homerobotdata

PETKIT PuraMax 2 vs Neakasa M1 Plus: which should you buy?

Buy the PETKIT PuraMax 2 ($300) if you have one or two average-size cats: it costs $80 less than the Neakasa M1 Plus ($380), and testers rate its sealed drawer for odor. Buy the Neakasa M1 Plus for a big cat, a kitten, or a cat that wants an open box: Neakasa rates it for cats from 2.2 to 33 lb, and its top is open.

Our pick: PETKIT PuraMax 2, $300 at Amazon

PETKIT PuraMax 2 vs Neakasa M1 Plus, feature by feature

“Not published” means the maker does not state it. One rule per row: a bigger figure wins (cat weight, days between emptying, warranty), a smaller one wins (smallest cat, floor space, height). Shape, big cats, odor, app, litter and sensors get no winner: makers and testers describe them in their own words.

FeaturePETKIT PuraMax 2Neakasa M1 PlusBetter
Smallest cat3.3 lb2.2 lbNeakasa M1 Plus
Heaviest catnot published33 lbcan't compare
Days between emptying, one catnot published14 dayscan't compare
Floor space, front to back21.18 in19.69 inNeakasa M1 Plus
Height21.73 in26.83 inPETKIT PuraMax 2
Warrantynot published2 yearscan't compare
ShapeLitter turns in a cylinder; the entrance stays open while it cleansOpen top; Neakasa names Maine Coons and Ragdollsno winner by rule
Big catsTesters say it is not ideal for large catsTesters' cats over 20 lb climbed in and out comfortablyno winner by rule
Cat safety while it cycles11 safety sensors6 pairs of infrared sensors and 4 weight sensorsno winner by rule
OdorSealed waste drawer and several deodorizing optionsBuilt-in sealing strip; testers say the open top holds odor less wellno winner by rule
AppPETKIT app for iPhone and AndroidShows bathroom habits and litter level, remote controlno winner by rule
No WiFiNot stated by PETKITKeeps cleaning on its last settingsno winner by rule
LitterMost clumping litters, not crystalClumping litter; not non-clumping, paper or wood pelletsno winner by rule
Waste bagsNot stated by PETKITAny bag that fits the drawerno winner by rule

Which one should you buy?

Get the PETKIT PuraMax 2 if you have one or two average-size cats and want to spend less. It is the cheaper box, it is shorter, and testers rate its sealed drawer for odor.

Get the Neakasa M1 Plus if you have a big cat, a kitten, or a cat that wants an open box. Neakasa rates it for cats from 2.2 to 33 lb, its top is open, and Neakasa says it keeps working if your WiFi drops.

Comparing either one with the Litter-Robot 4? See PuraMax 2 vs Litter-Robot 4 and Neakasa M1 Plus vs Litter-Robot 4.

On Amazon the PETKIT PuraMax 2 was $300 and the Neakasa M1 Plus $380 when we checked. That is $80 less for our pick.

The other one: Neakasa M1 Plus, $380 at Amazon

App and Wi-Fi

PETKIT PuraMax 2

  • Without the app: Control panel has a Clean Now function (press menu, then OK) that needs no app. (maker’s words)

Neakasa M1 Plus

  • Without the app: Has a Clean button on the box and an automatic cleaning mode. (maker’s words)
  • Without internet: Keeps working on its last settings with no internet; app stats pause. (maker’s words)

More: apps, subscriptions and offline use.

Questions

Which is better for a big cat? The Neakasa M1 Plus. Neakasa rates it for cats up to 33 lb, and its open top fits Maine Coons and Ragdolls by Neakasa's account. PETKIT gives no top weight for the PuraMax 2, and Cats.com's testers say it is not ideal for large cats. (cats.com)

Which is better for a kitten? The Neakasa M1 Plus. Neakasa says kittens of 2.2 lb or more can use it in automatic mode. PETKIT says cats under 3.3 lb (1.5 kg) should not use the PuraMax 2.

Which controls odor better? The PuraMax 2, on what testers report. Cats.com's testers rated its sealed drawer for good odor control. iHeartCats says the M1 Plus's open-top bowl holds less odor than an enclosed design. (cats.com) (iheartcats.com)

Do they work without WiFi? Neakasa says the M1 Plus keeps working on its last settings if the network drops. PETKIT's manual tells you to set the PuraMax 2 up in its app, and does not say what happens offline.

Sources

Each maker’s own US pages; Amazon prices from Amazon’s product data on the date shown. How we work.

  1. PETKIT PuraMax 2: product page (instructions.petkit.com)
  2. Neakasa M1 Plus: product page (neakasa.com)
  3. Neakasa M1 Plus: support page (neakasa.com)
  4. Cats.com: best automatic litter boxes (PuraMax 2 tested)
  5. iHeartCats: Neakasa M1 Plus review

PETKIT PuraMax 2Our pick, price as of November 2, 2026

$300 at Amazon