Automatic litter boxes for kittens and small cats
Minimum cat weights across the 21 automatic litter boxes we track that state one run from 2.2 lb to 4.4 lb; Litter-Robot 4 is 3 lb (as of November 2, 2026).
Lowest stated minimum you can buy on Amazon (2.2 lb): Petlibro Luma Smart Litter Box
$600 at Amazon
The lowest stated minimum on a box you can buy on Amazon today, with a weight sensor, is 2.2 lb: the Petlibro Luma Smart Litter Box. None of the 24 boxes is named in a CPSC recall in our November 2, 2026 screen of the CPSC database. We do not rate any box as safe for a kitten; these are the makers’ numbers.
| Model | Minimum cat weight | Safety sensors, maker’s words | Price | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Lowest stated minimum | Petlibro Luma Smart Litter Box | 2.2 lb petlibro.com | Weight, visual, and infrared motion sensors with anti-pinch protection | $600 at Amazon |
| The one people ask about | Whisker Litter-Robot 4 | 3 lb whisker.com | SafeCat System with Omnisense Detection: multi-layer safety system of lasers, weight sensors, and anti-obstruction technology | $699 at Amazon |
Every box, lightest stated minimum first
21 of the 24 boxes state a minimum cat weight on the maker’s own page or manual. 3 do not, and we mark them “not stated” rather than guess. In the detail list below, each number links to the page we read it from.
| Model | Lightest cat (maker’s number) | Price / buy |
|---|---|---|
| Neakasa M1 | 2.2 lb | no Amazon link |
Petlibro Luma Smart Litter Box | 2.2 lb | $600 at Amazon |
Els Pet Orbitie | 2.5 lb | $250 at Amazon |
| Meowant MW-SC01 | 3 lb | $310 list no Amazon link |
Whisker Litter-Robot 4 | 3 lb | $699 at Amazon |
| Whisker Litter-Robot 5 | 3 lb | $799 list no Amazon link |
| Whisker Litter-Robot 5 Pro | 3 lb | $899 list no Amazon link |
Whisker Litter-Robot EVO | 3 lb | $599 list no Amazon link |
| CatLink Scooper Luxury Pro-X | 3.3 lb | $439 list no Amazon link |
| CatLink Scooper Pro Ultra | 3.3 lb | $599 list no Amazon link |
Meowant MW-SC02 | 3.3 lb | no Amazon link |
Meowant MW-SC09 | 3.3 lb | $314 at Amazon |
Meowant MW-SC10 | 3.3 lb | $250 at Amazon |
Neakasa M1 Plus | 3.3 lb | $380 at Amazon |
PETKIT PuraMax 2 | 3.3 lb | $300 at Amazon |
PETKIT Purobot Max 3 | 3.3 lb | $370 at Amazon |
PETKIT Purobot Max Pro 2 | 3.3 lb | $491 at Amazon |
PETKIT Purobot Ultra | 3.3 lb | $800 at Amazon |
| Petsnowy Snow+ | 3.3 lb | $529 list no Amazon link |
CatLink Scooper SE | 3.5 lb | $219 at Amazon |
| ChillX AutoEgg | 4.4 lb | $400 list no Amazon link |
| Casa Leo Leo's Loo Too | not stated | $600 list no Amazon link |
| CatGenie A.I. | not stated | $529 list no Amazon link |
PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro Legacy | not stated | $130 at Amazon |
Each box in detail
The maker’s words for each minimum, its safety sensors and our CPSC recall screen, in the same order.
| Model | Minimum cat weight, maker’s number | Safety sensors, maker’s words | CPSC screen | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Neakasa M1 | 2.2 lb “Kittens weighing 2.2 lbs or more can safely use M1 in Automatic Cleaning mode. For kittens below this weight threshold, we recommend turning off Automatic Cleaning mode and enabling Kitten Mode.” neakasa.com | 6 pairs of infrared sensors and 4 weight sensors; pauses when a cat touches or enters neakasa.com | No CPSC recall names this model | no Amazon link |
Petlibro Luma Smart Litter Box | 2.2 lb “Luma is designed for adult cats weighing between 2.2 lb (1 kg) and 22 lb (10 kg).” petlibro.com | Weight, visual, and infrared motion sensors with anti-pinch protection petlibro.com | No CPSC recall names this model | $600 at Amazon |
Els Pet Orbitie | 2.5 lb “If your kitten weighs less than 2.5 lbs, we recommend enabling Kitten Mode through the app.” elspet.com | 4 gravity sensors + 2 dual-beam infrared detectors, plus a protective-pause and remote safety lock elspet.com | No CPSC recall names this model | $250 at Amazon |
| Meowant MW-SC01 | 3 lb “Cat Weight: 3-18 lbs” meowant.com | not stated | No CPSC recall names this model | $310 list no Amazon link: listing not confirmed |
Whisker Litter-Robot 4 | 3 lb “Litter-Robot 4 is designed for cats 3-25 lbs, and works for kittens and large breeds.” whisker.com | SafeCat System with Omnisense Detection: multi-layer safety system of lasers, weight sensors, and anti-obstruction technology whisker.com | No CPSC recall names this model | $699 at Amazon |
| Whisker Litter-Robot 5 | 3 lb “Litter-Robot 5 is suitable for cats that weigh 3-30 lbs” whisker.com | multiple lasers and weight sensor technology whisker.com | No CPSC recall names this model | $799 list no Amazon link: listing not confirmed |
| Whisker Litter-Robot 5 Pro | 3 lb “Litter-Robot 5 Pro is suitable for cats that weigh 3-30 lbs” whisker.com | multiple lasers and weight sensor technology whisker.com | No CPSC recall names this model | $899 list no Amazon link: listing not confirmed |
Whisker Litter-Robot EVO | 3 lb “Works for up to 2 cats, 3-19 lbs” whisker.com | SafeCat System: multi-layer safety system of weight sensors and anti-obstruction technology whisker.com | No CPSC recall names this model | $599 list no Amazon link: listing not confirmed |
| CatLink Scooper Luxury Pro-X | 3.3 lb “Suitable for cats weighing between 3.3 lbs to 22 lbs (1.5kg – 10kg)” catlinkus.com | Microwave Radar Sensor, Gravity Sensor, Anti-pinch Sensor catlinkus.com | No CPSC recall names this model | $439 list no Amazon link: listing not confirmed |
| CatLink Scooper Pro Ultra | 3.3 lb “Suitable for cats weighing between 3.3 lbs to 22 lbs (1.5kg – 10kg)” catlinkus.com | Microwave Radar Sensor, Gravity Sensor, Anti-pinch Sensor catlinkus.com | No CPSC recall names this model | $599 list no Amazon link: listing not confirmed |
Meowant MW-SC02 | 3.3 lb “weighing approximately 3.3 to 22 lbs” meowant.com | multiple safety sensors meowant.com | No CPSC recall names this model | no Amazon link |
Meowant MW-SC09 | 3.3 lb “weighing more than 3.3 lbs and less than 30 lbs” meowant.com | anti-pinch protection and safety sensors meowant.com | No CPSC recall names this model | $314 at Amazon |
Meowant MW-SC10 | 3.3 lb “Cat Weight 3.3+ lbs” meowant.com | 6 active safety sensors meowant.com | No CPSC recall names this model | $250 at Amazon |
Neakasa M1 Plus | 2.2 lb “Cat Weight Limit 2.2 lbs - around 33 lbs” neakasa.com Its Amazon listing says 3.3 lb: “Supports cats from 3.3–33 lbs and up to 3 cats. For kittens under 3.3 lbs, enable Kitten Mode in the Neakasa App for safer use.” We use the higher number, 3.3 lb. | 6 pairs of infrared sensors and 4 weight sensors; pauses when a cat touches or enters neakasa.com | No CPSC recall names this model | $380 at Amazon |
PETKIT PuraMax 2 | 3.3 lb “Cats weighing less than 1.5 kg are not recommended to use this product.” petkit.com (manual) | not stated | No CPSC recall names this model | $300 at Amazon |
PETKIT Purobot Max 3 | 3.3 lb “Cat Weight Limit: 3.3 - 22 lbs (1.5-10 kg)” petkit.com | not stated | No CPSC recall names this model | $370 at Amazon |
PETKIT Purobot Max Pro 2 | 3.3 lb “We do not recommend using PUROBOT MAX PRO 2 for kittens or cats weighing less than 3.3 lbs (1.5 kg).” petkit.com | 12 safety sensors, including proximity and weight sensors; pauses when a cat is nearby or inside petkit.com | No CPSC recall names this model | $491 at Amazon |
PETKIT Purobot Ultra | 3.3 lb “Cat Weight Limit: 3.3 - 22 lbs (1.5-10 kg)” petkit.com | xSecure Safety System: 20 high-precision sensors, anti-pinch structure, stops immediately on pet proximity petkit.com | No CPSC recall names this model | $800 at Amazon |
| Petsnowy Snow+ | 3.3 lb “Kittens weighing 3.3 pounds or more can safely use SNOW⁺ in automatic mode.” petsnowy.com | Radar and weight-based sensors; automatically stops if the cat re-enters petsnowy.com | No CPSC recall names this model | $529 list no Amazon link: listing not confirmed |
CatLink Scooper SE | 3.5 lb “Suitable for cats weighing between 3 lbs 8 oz to 22 lbs (1.58kg - 10kg)” catlinkus.com | Infrared Sensor, Gravity Sensor, Anti-pinch Sensor catlinkus.com | No CPSC recall names this model | $219 at Amazon |
| ChillX AutoEgg | 4.4 lb “Cats Supported (Auto Mode): 4.4 lb (2 kg) to 15.4 lb (7 kg)” chillx.co | Four weight sensors (1g accuracy) plus gravity sensors and Cat-Stuck Prevention chillx.co | No CPSC recall names this model | $400 list no Amazon link: listing not confirmed |
| Casa Leo Leo's Loo Too | not stated no minimum on the maker pages we checked | Radar motion detection, 4 weight sensors, and an anti-pinch sensor casaleopet.com | No CPSC recall names this model | $600 list no Amazon link: listing not confirmed |
| CatGenie A.I. | not stated no minimum on the maker pages we checked | GenieEyes cat-presence sensors delay the cleaning cycle until the cat has left the unit cdn.shopify.com | No CPSC recall names this model | $529 list no Amazon link: listing not confirmed |
PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro Legacy | not stated no minimum on the maker pages we checked | not stated | No CPSC recall names this model | $130 at Amazon |
How we picked the two at the top
The rule: the lowest minimum weight the maker states, on a box whose maker also says it has a weight sensor, that has a verified Amazon listing and that no CPSC recall names. Price plays no part. The Litter-Robot 4 is shown beside it because it is the box people ask about most, not because it wins the rule.
A lower minimum does not make a box safer. It means the maker says the box is built to sense a lighter cat.
If your kitten is under the minimum
Below the maker’s number, the box may not sense your cat. Follow the maker’s instructions. Some makers name a kitten mode or say to use the box with automatic cleaning off. Ask your vet if you are unsure. What the makers say:
- Whisker Litter-Robot 4: “Litter-Robot 4 is designed for cats 3-25 lbs, and works for kittens and large breeds.” whisker.com
- PETKIT Purobot Max Pro 2: “We do not recommend using PUROBOT MAX PRO 2 for kittens or cats weighing less than 3.3 lbs (1.5 kg).” petkit.com
- Neakasa M1: “Kittens weighing 2.2 lbs or more can safely use M1 in Automatic Cleaning mode. For kittens below this weight threshold, we recommend turning off Automatic Cleaning mode and enabling Kitten Mode.” neakasa.com
- Petsnowy Snow+: “Kittens weighing 3.3 pounds or more can safely use SNOW⁺ in automatic mode.” petsnowy.com
- Els Pet Orbitie: “If your kitten weighs less than 2.5 lbs, we recommend enabling Kitten Mode through the app.” elspet.com
- CatGenie: “Kittens over six months old can use the CatGenie, but we do not recommend it for kittens younger than 6 months as their stool is softer than fully grown cats.” catgenie.com
- PETKIT Purobot Max Pro 2: “If you have both young and adult cats, we suggest enabling Kitten Protection Mode via PETKIT app. This mode disables auto cleaning and periodic cleaning to ensure your kitten's safety.” petkit.com
None of the 24 boxes is named in a CPSC recall in our November 2, 2026 screen of the CPSC database. A clean result means no recall in the CPSC database names the model. It is not a safety rating. Check your own unit at cpsc.gov/Recalls. How we screen.
Questions people ask
What is the Litter-Robot 4 minimum cat weight?
Whisker says the Litter-Robot 4 is for cats from 3 lb up. Its own words: "Litter-Robot 4 is designed for cats 3-25 lbs, and works for kittens and large breeds."
Which automatic litter box takes the lightest cat?
Of the 21 boxes we track that state a minimum, the lowest is 2.2 lb: Neakasa M1, Petlibro Luma Smart Litter Box. The highest is 4.4 lb: ChillX AutoEgg.
Is an automatic litter box safe for a kitten?
We cannot tell you that, and no box on this page is rated safe by us. Each maker states the lightest cat its box is built for. Below that weight the box may not sense the cat. If your kitten is under the maker's number, follow the maker's instructions, which often means a kitten mode or turning automatic cleaning off, and ask your vet.
Have any automatic litter boxes been recalled?
None of the 24 boxes is named in a CPSC recall in our November 2, 2026 screen of the CPSC database. A clean screen means no recall in that database names the model. It is not a safety rating, and it does not cover unlisted brands. Check your own unit's model and serial number at cpsc.gov/Recalls.
Why do some boxes say not stated?
We could not find a minimum cat weight in text on the maker's own pages for these boxes: PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro Legacy, Casa Leo Leo's Loo Too, CatGenie A.I. We do not fill a blank from a reseller, a review or a sibling model.
Sources
- Whisker Litter-Robot 4: maker page (whisker.com) (checked September 29, 2026)
- Whisker Litter-Robot 5: maker page (whisker.com) (checked September 29, 2026)
- Whisker Litter-Robot 5 Pro: maker page (whisker.com) (checked September 29, 2026)
- Whisker Litter-Robot EVO: maker page (whisker.com) (checked September 29, 2026)
- PETKIT Purobot Ultra: maker page (petkit.com) (checked September 29, 2026)
- PETKIT Purobot Max Pro 2: maker page (petkit.com) (checked September 29, 2026)
- Neakasa M1: maker page (neakasa.com) (checked September 29, 2026)
- CatLink Scooper SE: maker page (catlinkus.com) (checked September 29, 2026)
- CatLink Scooper Luxury Pro-X: maker page (catlinkus.com) (checked September 29, 2026)
- CatLink Scooper Pro Ultra: maker page (catlinkus.com) (checked September 29, 2026)
- Petsnowy Snow+: maker page (petsnowy.com) (checked September 29, 2026)
- ChillX AutoEgg: maker page (chillx.co) (checked September 29, 2026)
- Petlibro Luma Smart Litter Box: maker page (petlibro.com) (checked September 29, 2026)
- Meowant MW-SC01: maker page (meowant.com) (checked September 29, 2026)
- Els Pet Orbitie: maker page (elspet.com) (checked September 29, 2026)
- PETKIT Purobot Max 3: maker page (petkit.com) (checked September 29, 2026)
- PETKIT PuraMax 2: maker page (petkit.com (manual)) (checked September 29, 2026)
- Meowant MW-SC02: maker page (meowant.com) (checked September 29, 2026)
- Meowant MW-SC09: maker page (meowant.com) (checked September 29, 2026)
- Meowant MW-SC10: maker page (meowant.com) (checked September 29, 2026)
- ChillX AutoEgg: safety sensors (chillx.co) (checked September 29, 2026)
- Casa Leo Leo's Loo Too: safety sensors (casaleopet.com) (checked September 29, 2026)
- CatGenie A.I.: safety sensors (cdn.shopify.com) (checked September 29, 2026)
- CPSC recalls database (SaferProducts.gov API), our screen (checked November 2, 2026)
- CPSC recalls search
- Amazon listings, verified by model number (checked November 2, 2026)
Compare the three boxes people weigh most: Litter-Robot 4 vs. PETKIT vs. Neakasa. For a house with several cats: the multi-cat page.
Petlibro Luma Smart Litter BoxLowest stated minimum
$600 at Amazon
Els Pet Orbitie
Whisker Litter-Robot EVO
Meowant MW-SC02
Meowant MW-SC09
Meowant MW-SC10
PETKIT PuraMax 2
PETKIT Purobot Max 3
CatLink Scooper SE
PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro Legacy