Neakasa M1 Plus
Buy the Neakasa M1 Plus if your cat avoids covered boxes: it is open on top and costs $319 less than the Litter-Robot 4 at Amazon ($380, checked November 2, 2026). It is a self-cleaning litter box: after each visit the bowl turns and drops
clumps into a bagged bin. Neakasa rates it for cats of 2.2 to about 33 lb, Maine Coons included.
- Size: 22.83 × 19.69 in, 26.83 in tall; 13.86 in step-in
- Empties: up to every 14 days with one cat
- Refills: only bags, about $17–$35 a year (Amazon, checked November 2, 2026). No filters or odor packs. About $432–$484 to own for 3 years.
Price as of November 2, 2026. Comes with a litter mat and 30 bags. Other Amazon bundles.
Deciding? M1 Plus or Litter-Robot 4 · M1 vs M1 Plus vs Lite Plus · Common problems
Shopping for one? Start with the best automatic litter box.
See also: Neakasa M1 Plus vs Litter-Robot 4: which to buy.
See also: PETKIT PuraMax 2 vs Neakasa M1 Plus: which to buy.
Questions buyers ask
How big is it?
Neakasa lists 22.83 × 19.69 in and 26.83 in tall (Neakasa). Its own M1 Plus vs Lite page gives a smaller size, 23.3 × 20.7 × 20.2 in (Neakasa), and Cats.com lists 20.2 in tall for the older M1. One owner says it reaches 632 mm (24.9 in) while the bowl turns (owner review). Plan on the taller figure if it goes under a shelf. It weighs 22.81 lb empty. Your cat steps over a 13.86 in rim.
M1 vs M1 Plus vs M1 Lite Plus: what is different?
The M1 Plus replaced the M1. Neakasa says it has better sensors, a brush seal over the bin and a 30% thicker liner against leaks (Neakasa). The Lite Plus is the same machine in white, with fewer bags and no mat (Neakasa). Amazon calls it the “M1 Plus Lite.”
| M1 (older) | M1 Plus | Lite Plus | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Infrared sensors | 5 fixed beams | 6 sweeping | 6 sweeping |
| Seal over the bin | Door | Brush strip | Brush strip |
| Leak guard | Seal stickers | Ring, thicker liner | Ring, thicker liner |
| In the box | 30 bags, mat | 30 bags, mat | 15 bags, no mat |
| Color | Grey | Grey | White |
| Amazon, new | replaced | $380 | $380 |
Buy the Lite Plus if you already have a mat and want white. Lite Plus, $380 on Amazon
How many cats, and how heavy?
Neakasa rates it for cats of 2.2 to about 33 lb (Neakasa). Neakasa’s own site names no cat count. Its Amazon listing says “up to 3 cats” and 3.3 to 33 lb. We go by the site, so we treat the count as not stated. iHeartCats’ cats over 20 lb climbed in and out with ease (iHeartCats). One owner says a 28 lb Maine Coon fits, but it is “super tight” (owner review). Neakasa’s Amazon photo says cats must differ by at least 1.1 lb for the app to tell them apart.
Can kittens use it?
Neakasa’s site says kittens of 2.2 lb and up can use automatic mode (Neakasa). Its Amazon listing says 3.3 lb. When a maker gives two numbers, we go by the higher one, so treat 3.3 lb as the minimum. Under that, turn on Kitten Mode. The box will not clean by itself. After your kitten goes, wait about 5 minutes, then press Clean with the kitten out of the box (Neakasa). Neakasa suggests its ramp step for kittens and older cats; it costs $60 from Neakasa (Neakasa).
What litter does it use?
Clumping clay or bentonite. Do not use pellets (tofu, wood or pine), crystal, paper or non-clumping litter (Neakasa). The first fill takes about 5–6 kg (11–13 lb) (Neakasa).
How often do you empty it, and what do bags cost?
Neakasa says up to 14 days with one cat, but suggests emptying once a week (Neakasa). iHeartCats says two or three cats fill it every 5 to 7 days. One bag per emptying. Neakasa’s 2 rolls hold 30 bags and cost $20 on Amazon, about $17–$35 a year for one cat. Neakasa’s bag page says 30 bags last 3–5 months, which works out higher, about $49–$81 (Neakasa). Any bag that fits the drawer works (Neakasa). Bags, $20 at Amazon
Is it loud? Is setup hard?
Neakasa says 50 dB or less. iHeartCats could not hear it from another room. Setup took her about 30 minutes, and you can set the clean to start 1 to 60 minutes after a visit (iHeartCats). The app needs 2.4 GHz WiFi. If WiFi drops, the box keeps cleaning (Neakasa).
What is the warranty?
2 years (Neakasa). Neakasa takes returns for 30 days on its own store; on Amazon, returns go through Amazon’s seller. The “2-Year Protection Plan” in the Amazon title is not an extra item: the box list names only the unit, mat, bags and papers.
What problems do owners report?
- “Full” too early. On the M1, clumps piled in one spot could set off a false full alert, which stops the box (Cats.com).
- Leaks. M1 owners reported urine leaking at the mat seam (Cats.com). The Plus adds a sealing ring.
- Cats that will not use it. The Cats.com tester’s cat refused it (Cats.com). Neakasa says to mix in used litter and clean by hand for the first days (Neakasa).
- Firmware. Neakasa made update 1.0.7-0019 required, for a rare case where the bowl turns too far. Check the version in the app (Neakasa).
- Odor. An open bowl holds odor less well than a closed globe (iHeartCats).
M1 Plus or Litter-Robot 4?
We pick by the limits makers put in writing. Whisker rates the Litter-Robot 4 for up to 4 cats. Neakasa’s site gives no cat count, so our pages cannot judge the M1 Plus for a set number of cats. Our Litter-Robot 4 vs PETKIT vs Neakasa table puts the three makers’ limits side by side. The M1 Plus costs $319 less, has no door, takes cats to about 33 lb and costs less to run. Consider it if your cat avoids covered boxes.
| M1 Plus | Litter-Robot 4 | |
|---|---|---|
| Amazon price | $380 | $699 |
| Shape | Open bowl | Covered globe, 15.75 in door |
| Cat weight | 2.2–33 lb | 3–25 lb |
| Cats | site: not stated | up to 4 |
| Floor space | 22.83 × 19.69 in | 22 × 27 in |
| Empties, one cat | 14 days | 8 days |
| Refills a year | $17–$35 | $65–$130+ |
| 3 years | $432–$484 | $895–$1,090+ |
| Warranty | 2 years | 1 year |
Litter-Robot 4 refills are OdorTrap packs at Whisker’s store price, $30 for 6. We read Whisker’s price on November 2, 2026 (Whisker). Whisker’s carbon filters add more. Litter-Robot 4 page · Litter-Robot 4 vs PETKIT vs Neakasa
Our pick for each home
| Home | Our pick | Why not the M1 Plus |
|---|---|---|
| One or two cats | Els Pet Orbitie | no cat count on Neakasa’s site |
| Three cats | Whisker Litter-Robot 4 | no cat count on Neakasa’s site |
| A large cat, 20 lb | Whisker Litter-Robot 4 | no cat count on Neakasa’s site |
| A kitten or small cat | Petlibro Luma Smart Litter Box | its Amazon listing says 3.3 lb; we use the higher minimum |
| Lowest price | Els Pet Orbitie | no cat count on Neakasa’s site |
The same picks as the best automatic litter box. Amazon prices as of November 2, 2026.
Which Amazon listing to buy
All are sold by Neakasa’s own Amazon store. Prices as of November 2, 2026; contents are from each listing’s text, read October 1, 2026.
| Listing | Price | Comes with | |
|---|---|---|---|
| M1 Plus (Amazon title: “with 2-Year Protection Plan”) | $380 | Mat, 30 bags | See it |
| M1 Lite Plus, white | $380 | 15 bags, no mat | See it |
Amazon also lists renewed units of the older M1; we do not link them.
What testers and owners report
We do not test units. Named reviewers found:
- iHeartCats, M1 Plus (May 2026): Kelli Brinegar used it with seven cats. It was quiet and easy to set up. Her first cat used it after about two days (iHeartCats). She finds the entry “somewhat high” for older cats. Her review carries a Neakasa discount code (iHeartCats).
- Cats.com, older M1: Liz Coleman scored it 4 of 5. Her senior cat would not use it, so she tested the cleaning with water and a weight (Cats.com). She disliked the tall entrance (Cats.com).
Every limit Neakasa publishes, with sources
| Limit | Neakasa figure, with its source |
|---|---|
| Cat weight | 2.2 to about 33 lb (Neakasa) |
| Cats | Not stated on Neakasa’s site (its Amazon listing: up to 3) |
| Bin lasts, one cat | up to 14 days (Neakasa) |
| Waste bin | 11.23 L (Neakasa) |
| Litter | clumping clay or bentonite (Neakasa) |
| Litter it holds | 7.17 L (Neakasa) |
| Step-in height | 13.86 in (Neakasa) |
| Floor space | 22.83 × 19.69 in (Neakasa) |
| Height | 26.83 in (20.2 in on another Neakasa page) (Neakasa) |
| Weight, empty | 22.81 lb (Neakasa) |
| Safety sensors | 6 pairs of infrared, 4 weight (the product record says 5 infrared) (Neakasa) |
| Noise | 50 dB or less (Neakasa) |
| Warranty | 2 years (Neakasa) |
Recall check (US and Canada): none found, November 2, 2026.
Sources
All read October 1, 2026. Amazon prices and listings checked November 2, 2026. These are Neakasa’s figures and named reviewers’ findings, not our tests. How we work.
All 9 sources
- Neakasa: M1 Plus page and FAQ
- Neakasa: M1 Plus product record (size, litter)
- Neakasa: M1 Plus vs M1 Lite Plus (updated June 22, 2026)
- Neakasa: M1 waste bags
- Neakasa: M1 ramp step
- Neakasa: M1 firmware update notice
- Neakasa: warranty policy
- iHeartCats: Neakasa M1 Plus review (Kelli Brinegar, seven cats)
- Cats.com: Neakasa M1 review (Liz Coleman)
Next: Best automatic litter box · Litter-Robot 4 vs PETKIT vs Neakasa · For kittens and small cats
Neakasa M1 PlusPrice as of November 2, 2026
$380 at Amazon


