homerobotdata

The best automatic litter box for multiple cats

Quick answer: For 3 or 4 cats, buy the Litter-Robot 4 ($699). It is rated for up to 4 cats, 3–25 lb each. With 3 cats, empty it twice per week (Whisker). For 2 cats, buy the Els Pet Orbitie ($250). It is rated for up to 5 cats, and its drawer goes 20 days between emptying, the longest any multi-cat maker states (Els Pet). Els Pet does not say for how many cats.

  • Els Pet Orbitie

    2 cats

    Els Pet Orbitie

    Rated for 5 cats · 2.5–21 lb · drawer: once every 20 days

    $250
  • Whisker Litter-Robot 4

    Our pick for 3 or 4 cats

    Litter-Robot 4

    Rated for 4 cats · 3–25 lb · with 3 cats, empty it twice per week

    $699
  • Whisker Litter-Robot 4

    A large cat, up to 25 lb

    Litter-Robot 4

    Rated to 25 lb · door 15.75 in wide

    $699
  • Petlibro Luma Smart Litter Box

    5 or more cats

    Petlibro Luma

    Rated for 10 cats, the most of any box on Amazon · its camera tells cats apart

    $600
  • Els Pet Orbitie

    Lowest cost to own

    Els Pet Orbitie

    About $271 for 3 years, box and refills (one cat’s schedule)

    $250

Amazon prices as of November 2, 2026. Tap a name for why it won. We compare makers’ limits; we do not test boxes.

Other models on most shortlists

These models come up when people ask this question. Here are their makers’ figures and price, to set beside our pick above.

ModelCat weight, fromCat weight, toCats, up toDrawer lasts, one catPrice
PETKIT PuraMax 23.3 lbnot publishednot publishednot published$300
Neakasa M1 Plus2.2 lb33 lbnot published14 days$380
with 2-year protection plan, on Amazon

Which box for how many cats

Your catsBuyRated forEmpty the drawerPrice
2 catsEls Pet Orbitieup to 5 catsOnce every 20 days, Els Pet says. It does not say for how many cats.$250
3 catsLitter-Robot 4up to 4 catsTwice per week (Whisker). Every 2–3 days (TechnoMeow).$699
4 catsLitter-Robot 4up to 4 catsEvery other day (Whisker). Every 2–3 days (TechnoMeow).$699
5 or morePetlibro Lumaup to 10 catsPetlibro says “up to 7 days of waste for 2 cats”. It gives no figure for more.$600
Any number, one cat over 21 lbLitter-Robot 4up to 4 cats, to 25 lbAs for 3 or 4 cats above.$699

“Rated for” is the most cats the maker says one box can serve. Prices are Amazon’s on November 2, 2026.

How often you empty the drawer

More cats fill the drawer faster. Most makers give a figure for one cat only. Here is every figure we found for 2 to 4 cats, in each source’s own words.

Litter-Robot 4. Whisker gives two answers. Its support page has a table by number of cats (Whisker). Its product page says 8 days for one cat, then “for every additional cat, divide that figure in half” (Whisker). TechnoMeow’s Litter-Robot 4 guide gives a third (TechnoMeow).

CatsWhisker support pageWhisker product page ruleTechnoMeow
1 catEvery 2 weeksevery 8 daysUsually once a week
2 catsEvery weekevery 4 daysEvery 4–5 days
3 catsTwice per weekevery 2 daysEvery 2–3 days
4 catsEvery other dayevery dayEvery 2–3 days

The simple rule: with 3 or 4 cats, plan to empty a Litter-Robot 4 every 2–3 days. That is TechnoMeow’s figure, and it sits between Whisker’s two.

Els Pet Orbitie. Els Pet says the drawer “needs emptying just once every 20 days”, but not for how many cats (Els Pet). It does not publish a figure for 2 or more cats. We found no tester who has used it.

Petlibro Luma. Petlibro says the drawer holds “up to 7 days of waste for 2 cats” (Petlibro). It gives no figure for 3 or more. Cats.com’s tester says it “may fill more quickly in multi-cat home” (Cats.com).

For comparison, a tester with seven cats (iHeartCats) says the Neakasa M1 Plus needs emptying “every 5 to 7 days” with two or three cats (iHeartCats). Neakasa does not say how many cats it is rated for, so it is not a pick here.

What to check with more than one cat

  1. The cat count. Only 3 of the 12 automatic litter boxes on Amazon say how many cats they serve. We pick only from those 3.
  2. Your heaviest cat. It must be under the maker’s top limit. Of our picks, the Litter-Robot 4 goes highest, to 25 lb.
  3. How often you will empty it. A one-cat figure shrinks with each cat. See the table.
  4. Telling cats apart. The Litter-Robot 4 sorts cats by weight in its free app (Whisker). Whisker says it “may have trouble telling your cats apart if they are very similar in weight” (Whisker). The Petlibro Luma uses a camera; Petlibro says it “can identify up to 10 cats from multiple angles, even from behind” (Petlibro). Els Pet’s app tracks visits and time in the box; it does not say it tells cats apart (Els Pet).

All 3 boxes rated for 2 or more cats

Cheapest first. Each figure is the maker’s own. “Not stated” means the maker does not publish it.

BoxCatsCat weightDoorDays between emptyingPrice
Els Pet Orbitie pick5 cats2.5–21 lb12 in20 days (cat count not stated)$250
Petlibro Luma pick10 cats2.2–22 lb17.4 innot stated$600
Litter-Robot 4 pick4 cats3–25 lb15.75 in8 days (one cat)$699

Also on Amazon, with no cat count from the maker: CatLink Scooper SE, Meowant MW-SC09, Meowant MW-SC10, Neakasa M1 Plus, PETKIT PuraMax 2, PETKIT Purobot Max 3, PETKIT Purobot Max Pro 2, PETKIT Purobot Ultra and PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro Legacy. All of them, side by side.

Check your own cats

Adjust to your house. Change the numbers and this box re-judges the models we track against your house, with the same rules and the same maker figures. The picks and tables above stay on the page’s own house.

Why these three

We do not test litter boxes. Each pick follows a rule from the makers’ own limits, the same rule our other litter pages use. Where testers have used a box, we say what they found.

Whisker Litter-Robot 4

For 3 or 4 cats, and for a large cat

Whisker rates it for up to 4 cats, 3–25 lb each. Of the boxes on Amazon rated for 4 or more cats, it is the only one we found tested in three-cat homes. Whisker names “large breeds like Maine Coons or Norwegian Forest cats” (Whisker). Whisker gives “an entryway width of 15.75″ and an interior height of 16.5″” (Whisker). You set how long it waits after a visit before it cleans, “from 3 minutes to 30 minutes” (Whisker).

What testers with three cats found: Cats.com’s tester has three cats (Cats.com). Cats.com writes: “Our testers didn’t notice any litter box odor unless the drawer was open.” (Cats.com) Engadget’s tester also has three cats (Engadget), but “only two of my cats continue to use the Litter Robot 4” (Engadget). Keep your old box until every cat uses the new one.

For a big cat: Cats.com says its “smaller litter bed may not comfortably accommodate large cats” (Cats.com). More: Litter-Robot 4 size, refills and bundles.

Els Pet Orbitie

For 2 cats, and the lowest cost to own

Els Pet says “one Litter-Box is all you need for up to 5 cats of any size or breed” (Els Pet). Its drawer needs emptying once every 20 days, though Els Pet does not say for how many cats. It costs $250, and about $271 over 3 years with its own refill bags. Of the boxes rated for 3 cats whose refills we could price, that is the lowest 3-year cost. You can delay cleaning “by up to 30 minutes” (Els Pet).

What Els Pet says two ways: its page says the Orbitie has “no weight limit” (Els Pet), then recommends cats “under 21 lbs” (Els Pet). Its FAQ says “up to 25 pounds” (Els Pet FAQ). We judge it on 21 lb.

What testers found: we found no hands-on test of the Orbitie. That is why it is not our pick for 3 or more cats, even though it is rated for 5.

Petlibro Luma Smart Litter Box

For 5 or more cats

Petlibro rates it for up to 10 cats, 2.2–22 lb each, the most of any box on Amazon. Petlibro says its camera “can identify up to 10 cats” (Petlibro). It cleans “after each visit or on the schedule you set” (Petlibro).

What testers found: Cats.com says it “automatically captures photos during each visit”, so you can match each cat to its habits (Cats.com). The catch: Petlibro gives drawer time only for 2 cats (Petlibro).

See also: Neakasa M1 Plus vs Litter-Robot 4: which to buy.

Questions people ask

How many cats can share one automatic litter box?

As many as its maker rates it for: Petlibro Luma 10 cats, Els Pet Orbitie 5 cats and Litter-Robot 4 4 cats. Whisker says one Litter-Robot 4 “works for up to 4 cats, removing the need for multiple boxes” (Whisker). But not every cat will use it. Cats.com says “some cats will never love their automatic litter box” (Cats.com).

How often do I empty it with 2, 3 or 4 cats?

For the Litter-Robot 4, Whisker says every week for 2 cats, twice per week for 3 and every other day for 4 (Whisker). Plan on every 2–3 days with 3 or 4 cats (TechnoMeow). Petlibro says the Luma holds “up to 7 days of waste for 2 cats”. Els Pet gives no figure for more than one cat. Every figure.

Can an automatic litter box tell my cats apart?

Some can. The Litter-Robot 4’s free app sorts cats by weight, but Whisker says it may mix up cats of similar weight (Whisker). The Luma uses a camera; Petlibro says it “can identify up to 10 cats” (Petlibro).

What is the best Litter-Robot for large cats?

On Amazon, the Litter-Robot 4. Whisker rates it to 25 lb and for up to 4 cats. Neakasa rates the M1 Plus higher, to 33 lb, but does not say how many cats it serves.

Which Litter-Robot is best for multiple cats?

The lowest-priced one Whisker rates for your cats. One or two cats, up to 19 lb: the Litter-Robot EVO. 3 to 4 cats, or a cat over 19 lb (up to 25 lb): the Litter-Robot 4. Which Litter-Robot to buy.

What is the cheapest automatic litter box for multiple cats?

To own for 3 years, the Els Pet Orbitie: about $271 with its refills.

How do I get all my cats to use it?

Set it up next to the old box and leave it off at first. Cats.com says to “start with the unit turned off” (Cats.com). Keep the old box until every cat uses the new one.

Sources

Maker pages and reviews read October 13, 2026. Amazon prices and listings checked November 2, 2026. These are the makers’ figures and named testers’ findings, not our tests. How we work.

All 14 sources
  1. Whisker: Litter-Robot 4 ongoing maintenance (table by number of cats)
  2. Whisker: automatic litter boxes page (emptying by number of cats)
  3. Whisker: Litter-Robot 4 setup guide
  4. Whisker: Litter-Robot 4 page
  5. Whisker: Whisker+ page
  6. TechnoMeow: Litter-Robot 4 top 25 questions (Jamey Ekins)
  7. Cats.com: Litter-Robot 4 review (Kate Barrington, three cats)
  8. Engadget: Litter-Robot 4 review (three cats)
  9. Cats.com: the best automatic litter boxes
  10. Els Pet: Orbitie page and FAQ
  11. Els Pet: FAQ for all its boxes
  12. Petlibro: Luma page and FAQ
  13. Cats.com: Petlibro Luma review (Amy Brown-Towry)
  14. iHeartCats: Neakasa M1 Plus review (seven cats)

Next: best automatic litter box · which Litter-Robot · kittens and small cats · Litter-Robot alternatives

Whisker Litter-Robot 4Our pick for 3 or 4 cats

$699 at Amazon