Best Automatic Litter Box for Large Cats (2026): Ranked by Max Cat Weight
The best automatic litter box for a large cat is the Neakasa M1 Plus ($380 at Amazon): Neakasa rates it for cats up to 33 lb, the highest limit of the 17 boxes we checked with a stated top weight, and its entry is 13.86 in high.
For a cat under 30 lb, the Meowant MW-SC09 ($314) is the cheaper pick, and the Whisker Litter-Robot 4 ($699) is the Litter-Robot you can buy on Amazon, rated to 25 lb.
Over 28 lb? Measure your cat first: one owner of a 28 lb Maine Coon called it “super tight” (owner post).

Highest weight limit
Rated to 33 lb. Entry 13.86 in. Neakasa says the open top fits Maine Coons and Ragdolls.
Premium enclosed
Whisker Litter-Robot 5
Whisker rates it for cats up to 30 lb, with a 15.75 in entry. Closest on Amazon: the Neakasa M1 Plus ($380), rated to 33 lb with a 13.86 in entry.

Litter-Robot on Amazon
Whisker rates it for cats up to 25 lb and up to 4 cats. Entry 15.75 in.
Every box, ranked by the heaviest cat it is rated for
Weight limits and entry sizes are each maker’s own words, linked to the page they came from. Prices are Amazon’s on November 3, 2026. 7 more boxes in our data have no top weight stated by their makers, so they are not ranked.
| Rank | Box | Max cat weight | Entry (maker’s words) | Price | Verdict | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Neakasa M1 Plus | 33 lb | “Entry Height 13.86" (Easy Access)” | $380 | Best fit: rated to 33 lb, 13.86 in entry. | $380 at Amazon |
| 2 | Meowant MW-SC09 | under 30 lb | Not stated by the maker | $314 | Best fit: rated for cats under 30 lb, entry size not stated. | $314 at Amazon |
| 3 | Whisker Litter-Robot 5 | 30 lb | “Entryway 15.75" x 15.75"” | — | Best fit: rated to 30 lb, 15.75 in entry. | Closest on Amazon: Neakasa M1 Plus, 33 lb, 13.86 in entry $380 at Amazon |
| 4 | Whisker Litter-Robot 5 Pro | 30 lb | “Entryway 15.75" x 15.75"” | — | Best fit: rated to 30 lb, 15.75 in entry. | Closest on Amazon: Neakasa M1 Plus, 33 lb, 13.86 in entry $380 at Amazon |
| 5 | Whisker Litter-Robot 4 | 25 lb | “Entryway 15.75" x 15.75"” | $699 | Good fit: rated to 25 lb, 15.75 in entry. | $699 at Amazon |
| 6 | CatLink Scooper SE | 22 lb | “Entryway: 9.45"H x 8.38"W” | — | Skip: too small for a large cat (rated to only 22 lb and entry only 9.45 in). | For a large cat, get: Neakasa M1 Plus $380 at Amazon |
| 7 | Meowant MW-SC02 | 22 lb | Not stated by the maker | — | Skip: too small for a large cat (rated to only 22 lb). | For a large cat, get: Neakasa M1 Plus $380 at Amazon |
| 8 | PETKIT Purobot Max 3 | 22 lb | “Entrance Height: 8.03 in (204 mm)” | — | Skip: too small for a large cat (rated to only 22 lb and entry only 8.03 in). | For a large cat, get: Neakasa M1 Plus $380 at Amazon |
| 9 | PETKIT Purobot Max Pro 2 | 22 lb | “Entrance Height: 10.03 in (255 mm)” | — | Skip: too small for a large cat (rated to only 22 lb). | For a large cat, get: Neakasa M1 Plus $380 at Amazon |
| 10 | PETKIT Purobot Ultra | 22 lb | “Entrance Height: 10.43 in (265 mm)” | — | Skip: too small for a large cat (rated to only 22 lb). | For a large cat, get: Neakasa M1 Plus $380 at Amazon |
| 11 | Petlibro Luma Smart Litter Box | 22 lb | “ENTRANCE 17.4 in (44.2 cm)” | — | Skip: too small for a large cat (rated to only 22 lb). | For a large cat, get: Neakasa M1 Plus $380 at Amazon |
| 12 | CatLink Scooper Luxury Pro-X | 22 lb | “Entrance Height: 14" (35.5cm)” | — | Skip: too small for a large cat (rated to only 22 lb). | For a large cat, get: Neakasa M1 Plus $380 at Amazon |
| 13 | CatLink Scooper Pro Ultra | 22 lb | “Entrance Height: 14" (35.5cm)” | — | Skip: too small for a large cat (rated to only 22 lb). | For a large cat, get: Neakasa M1 Plus $380 at Amazon |
| 14 | Casa Leo Leo's Loo Too | 20 lb | Not stated by the maker | — | Skip: too small for a large cat (rated to only 20 lb). | For a large cat, get: Neakasa M1 Plus $380 at Amazon |
| 15 | CatGenie A.I. | 20 lb | Not stated by the maker | — | Skip: too small for a large cat (rated to only 20 lb). | For a large cat, get: Neakasa M1 Plus $380 at Amazon |
| 16 | Whisker Litter-Robot EVO | 19 lb | “Entryway 14.85" x 14.85"” | — | Skip: too small for a large cat (rated to only 19 lb). | For a large cat, get: Neakasa M1 Plus $380 at Amazon |
| 17 | ChillX AutoEgg | 15.4 lb | Not stated by the maker | — | Skip: too small for a large cat (rated to only 15.4 lb). | For a large cat, get: Neakasa M1 Plus $380 at Amazon |
Boxes to skip for a large cat
Skip any box rated to 22 lb or less, and any with an entry under 10 in, so a big cat can step in and turn around. The smallest entries in our data are the PETKIT Purobot Max 3 (8.03 in), CatLink Scooper SE (9.45 in), PETKIT Purobot Max Pro 2 (10.03 in).
Check the turning room before you buy
A weight limit is not the whole answer. Measure your cat from nose to the base of the tail, and from the floor to the top of the shoulder. Then compare both to the entry size and the room inside. A tall entry with little room behind it can still be a tight fit.
A reviewer with two cats over 20 lb says they climb in and out of the Neakasa comfortably (iHeartCats). The entry is high, so a senior cat may need the step (iHeartCats).
Neakasa M1 Plus: the highest weight limit
Why: Neakasa’s page says “Cat Weight Limit 2.2 lbs - around 33 lbs”. The entry is “Entry Height 13.86" (Easy Access)”. Neakasa says the open top fits Maine Coons and Ragdolls.
Whisker Litter-Robot 5: rated to 30 lb
Whisker says “Litter-Robot 5 is suitable for cats that weigh 3-30 lbs”. It has an enclosed globe with a 15.75 x 15.75 in entry. For a cat under 30 lb, get the Meowant MW-SC09 ($314); its maker states no entry size. The Neakasa M1 Plus has a 13.86 in entry and a 33 lb limit.
Whisker Litter-Robot 4: rated to 25 lb
Whisker says “Litter-Robot 4 is designed for cats 3-25 lbs, and works for kittens and large breeds.”. The entry is 15.75 x 15.75 in. Pick it for a cat up to 25 lb in a home with up to 4 cats.
Meowant MW-SC09: rated for cats under 30 lb
Meowant’s page says “weighing more than 3.3 lbs and less than 30 lbs”. The maker does not state an entry size or a cat count, so check your cat against the box before you buy. It costs $314.
How we checked
We read every automatic litter box in our data against its maker’s own page: top cat weight, entry size and cat count, each kept with the sentence it came from and re-read nightly. Boxes with a CPSC recall are not offered. Last check: November 2, 2026. Buying for more than one cat? See the best box for multiple cats.
Questions
What weight is a large cat?
Most boxes are rated for cats up to 22 or 25 pounds. A cat of 15 pounds or more is large for many boxes, so pick a box with a limit well above your cat's weight.
Is an open-top or a globe box better for a big cat?
An open top gives a long or tall cat more headroom. A globe keeps litter and smell in. Neakasa's open top is rated for the most weight, and the Litter-Robot is a globe.
Can a 20 pound cat use a box rated for 22 pounds?
It can fit the limit, but there is little room to spare, and some boxes with a 22 pound limit also have a small entry. For a cat near 20 pounds, pick a box rated well above that.
How do I know my cat will turn around inside?
Measure your cat from nose to the base of the tail and from the floor to the shoulder. Compare those to the entry size and the room inside the box.
Sources
Each maker’s own pages, read November 2, 2026. Amazon prices from Amazon’s product data on November 3, 2026. How we work.
- Neakasa M1 Plus: maker’s page
- Whisker Litter-Robot 5: maker’s page
- Whisker Litter-Robot 4: maker’s page
- Meowant MW-SC09: maker’s page
- Iheartcats (iheartcats.com) page
Next: Best automatic litter box for multiple cats · Boxes that work without the app · Is my robot recalled?