Roomba 105X vs 115X Combo: which should you buy?
For a home with rugs, get the Roomba 105 Combo: iRobot gives it the same carpet detection and dock as the 105X Combo, for less. The 115X Combo keeps rugs dry only where you draw No Mop Zones.
iRobot Roomba 105X Combo vs iRobot Roomba 115X Combo, feature by feature
“Not published” means the maker does not state it. One rule per row: a bigger figure wins (climb, mop lift, bag days, warranty), a lower robot wins, a yes beats a no. Suction claims and obstacle sensing get no winner: makers rate them their own way.
| Feature | iRobot Roomba 105X Combo | iRobot Roomba 115X Combo | Better |
|---|---|---|---|
| Mop | flat pad | flat pad | same |
| Climbs door strips up to | 16 mm (maker's number, step type not given) | 16 mm (maker's number, step type not given) | same |
| Height | 4.09 in | not published | can't compare |
| Dock empties it | yes | yes | same |
| Keeps rugs dry while mopping | Detects carpet by itself and skips it | You draw No Mop Zones in the app | iRobot Roomba 105X Combo |
| Area per charge | Not stated by iRobot | Up to 900 sq ft | no winner by rule |
| iRobot's suction claim | 70X more suction | 2X power | no winner by rule |
| Dock bag | Up to 75 days | 2.5 L bag, up to 3 months | no winner by rule |
| Deeper scrub mode | SmartScrub, 2x deeper | SmartScrub, 2x deeper | no winner by rule |
Which one should you buy?
Get the Roomba 105 Combo if you have rugs and want to mop. iRobot’s page for it lists the same Carpet Detect, the same “70X more suction” claim and the same 75-day dock as the 105X Combo, so the 105X only makes sense if it is the cheaper of the two where you shop.
Get the Roomba 115X Combo if you have no rugs, or you are happy to draw No Mop Zones once in the app. iRobot says it covers up to 900 sq ft per charge; it gives no such figure for the 105X.
iRobot rates both at 16 mm door strips (maker’s number, step type not given). Measure your tallest strip first.
On Amazon the iRobot Roomba 105 Combo was $269 and the iRobot Roomba 115X Combo $470 when we checked. That is $201 less for our pick.
App and Wi-Fi
iRobot Roomba 105 Combo
- Without the app: You can start a clean with the button on the robot, no app needed. (maker’s words)
- Without internet: iRobot says cleaning needs no app or Wi-Fi; it does not say schedules or maps run offline. (maker’s words)
iRobot Roomba 115X Combo
- Without the app: iRobot says Roombas can Clean, Dock and Spot Clean without the app. (maker’s words)
- Without internet: iRobot says cleaning needs no app or Wi-Fi; it does not say schedules or maps run offline. (maker’s words)
See also: Roomba replacement parts: genuine or compatible?.
See also: Can a robot vacuum work without WiFi? Our offline study.
See also: Roomba alternatives that cost less.
Questions
Which Roomba is better for rugs? The 105X Combo, or its cheaper twin the 105 Combo: iRobot says both detect carpet and do not mop it. The 115X Combo mops everywhere except the No Mop Zones you draw in the app.
What does the X in 105X mean? iRobot does not say. Its pages give the 105X Combo and the 105 Combo the same size, the same 75-day dock, the same carpet detection and the same suction claim.
Is the 105X Combo stronger than the 115X Combo? You cannot tell from iRobot's numbers. iRobot says the 105X Combo has 70X more suction and the 115X Combo 2X power, both compared with the old Roomba 600 series, measured in ways it does not explain.
Do both empty themselves? Yes, in the versions with the AutoEmpty dock. iRobot rates the 105X Combo's dock at up to 75 days per bag, and says the 115X Combo's dock holds a 2.5 L bag.
Do both have a deep-scrub mode? Yes. iRobot says both have SmartScrub, which scrubs about twice as deep when you turn it on.
Sources
Each maker’s own US pages; Amazon prices from Amazon’s product data on the date shown. How we work.
iRobot Roomba 105 ComboOur pick, price as of November 2, 2026
$269 at Amazon