Can a Roomba work without WiFi?
Yes, a Roomba works without WiFi. All 17 Roombas we track start from the button on the robot, and iRobot says Clean, Dock and Spot Clean need no WiFi or app.
No WiFi at home? The lowest-priced Roomba we track that starts from its button is the iRobot Roomba 105 Combo. One catch: iRobot’s page for the Roomba Max 705 Combo says you need the app and WiFi to set it up the first time. Set any robot up while you have WiFi if you can.
iRobot Roomba 105 Combo $269 at Amazon
Only 1 of the 80 robot vacuums we track has a maker statement that it fully works with no app and no internet: the eufy 11S Max. 59 of the 80 can still do a basic clean if you press a button. Self-cleaning litter boxes do better: 15 of 24 keep cycling on their own with no internet, by their makers’ words.
Want a robot that keeps working no matter what? Pick one whose maker says it works fully with no internet, not just a basic clean from a button, like the eufy 11S Max (robot vacuum) or the Neakasa M1 Plus (litter box).
eufy 11S Max $170 at Amazon Neakasa M1 Plus $380 at Amazon
| Type | Pick that keeps working | Offline score | Price |
|---|---|---|---|
| Robot vacuums | eufy 11S Maxstarts with no app, and its maker says it fully works with no internet | 3 of 3 | $170 at Amazon |
| Self-cleaning litter boxes | Neakasa M1 Plusstarts with no app, and its maker says it fully works with no internet | 3 of 3 | $380 at Amazon |
| Robot lawn mowers | Ecovacs GOAT O1000 RTKstarts with no app and does basic mowing with no internet | 2 of 3 | $791 at Amazon |
| Robotic pool cleaners | Dolphin E10starts with no app, and its maker says it fully works with no internet | 3 of 3 | $530 at Amazon |
The table above has the pick for each type of robot, chosen by our offline score. Most other robots fall back to basic cleaning: the map, room picking and schedule stay in the app.
Download the data (CSV, 138 robots, every answer with its quote and source). Free to use with credit to HomeRobotData.
What happens with no internet, by robot type
The green part of each bar is robots whose maker says they keep working with no internet. The grey part is robots whose maker does not say. Grey is not a “no”: it means the maker’s own pages leave you guessing.
Fully works offlineBasic cleaning onlyDoes not work offlineMaker does not say
Robot vacuums: 59 of 80 work with no app and no internet
67 of 80 have a maker statement that they start from a button, or on their own, with no app. 60 of 80 have a maker statement that they keep working with no internet. Of those, 1 works fully offline, not just basic cleaning, by the maker’s words. 15 of 80 have a maker statement that you need the app to set them up first. For 12, the maker pages we read say nothing either way.
| Buy | ||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
eufy 11S MaxMaker’s words
| Yes | Yes, fully | not stated by the maker | none stated | 3 of 3 | $170 at Amazon |
Roborock Qrevo Curv S5XMaker’s words
| Yes | Basic cleaning only | not stated by the maker | none stated | 2 of 3 | $1,150 at Amazon |
Roborock Qrevo CurvXMaker’s words
| Yes | Basic cleaning only | not stated by the maker | none stated | 2 of 3 | $950 at Amazon |
Roborock Qrevo SlimMaker’s words
| Yes | Basic cleaning only | not stated by the maker | none stated | 2 of 3 | $1,400 at Amazon |
Roborock Saros 10Maker’s words
| Yes | Basic cleaning only | not stated by the maker | none stated | 2 of 3 | $900 at Amazon |
Roborock Saros Z70Maker’s words
| Yes | Basic cleaning only | not stated by the maker | none stated | 2 of 3 | $1,000 at Amazon |
Dreame D20 Air PlusMaker’s words
| Yes | Basic cleaning only | not stated by the maker | none stated | 2 of 3 | $270 at Amazon |
Dreame D30 Ultra CEMaker’s words
| Yes | Basic cleaning only | not stated by the maker | none stated | 2 of 3 | $460 at Amazon |
Dreame L40 Ultra Gen 2Maker’s words
| Yes | Basic cleaning only | not stated by the maker | none stated | 2 of 3 | $500 at Amazon |
Dreame L40s UltraMaker’s words
| Yes | Basic cleaning only | not stated by the maker | none stated | 2 of 3 | $500 at Amazon |
Dreame L50 UltraMaker’s words
| Yes | Basic cleaning only | not stated by the maker | none stated | 2 of 3 | $900 at Amazon |
Dreame L60 Pro UltraMaker’s words
| Yes | Basic cleaning only | not stated by the maker | none stated | 2 of 3 | $1,400 at Amazon |
Dreame L60 UltraMaker’s words
| Yes | Basic cleaning only | not stated by the maker | none stated | 2 of 3 | $1,100 at Amazon |
Dreame L60 Ultra FEMaker’s words
| Yes | Basic cleaning only | not stated by the maker | none stated | 2 of 3 | $800 at Amazon |
Dreame L60 Ultra PEMaker’s words
| Yes | Basic cleaning only | not stated by the maker | none stated | 2 of 3 | $900 at Amazon |
Dreame X50 UltraMaker’s words
| Yes | Basic cleaning only | not stated by the maker | none stated | 2 of 3 | $950 at Amazon |
Dreame X60 Max Ultra CompleteMaker’s words
| Yes | Basic cleaning only | not stated by the maker | none stated | 2 of 3 | $1,600 at Amazon |
Roborock Q10 S5+Maker’s words
| Yes | Basic cleaning only | not stated by the maker | none stated | 2 of 3 | $550 at Amazon |
Roborock Q7 L5Maker’s words
| Yes | Basic cleaning only | not stated by the maker | none stated | 2 of 3 | $140 at Amazon |
Roborock Q7 M5Maker’s words
| Yes | Basic cleaning only | not stated by the maker | none stated | 2 of 3 | $230 at Amazon |
Roborock Q7 M5+Maker’s words
| Yes | Basic cleaning only | not stated by the maker | none stated | 2 of 3 | $250 at Amazon |
Roborock QV 35AMaker’s words
| Yes | Basic cleaning only | not stated by the maker | none stated | 2 of 3 | $450 at Amazon |
Roborock Qrevo 2 ProMaker’s words
| Yes | Basic cleaning only | not stated by the maker | none stated | 2 of 3 | $800 at Amazon |
Roborock Qrevo Curv 2 FlowMaker’s words
| Yes | Basic cleaning only | not stated by the maker | none stated | 2 of 3 | $800 at Amazon |
Roborock Qrevo Edge 2Maker’s words
| Yes | Basic cleaning only | not stated by the maker | none stated | 2 of 3 | $800 at Amazon |
Roborock Qrevo Edge 3 ProMaker’s words
| Yes | Basic cleaning only | not stated by the maker | none stated | 2 of 3 | $1,000 at Amazon |
Roborock Qrevo S ProMaker’s words
| Yes | Basic cleaning only | not stated by the maker | none stated | 2 of 3 | $400 at Amazon |
Roborock Qrevo S5VMaker’s words
| Yes | Basic cleaning only | not stated by the maker | none stated | 2 of 3 | $900 at Amazon |
Roborock Saros 20Maker’s words
| Yes | Basic cleaning only | not stated by the maker | none stated | 2 of 3 | $1,600 at Amazon |
Roborock Saros 20 FlowMaker’s words
| Yes | Basic cleaning only | not stated by the maker | none stated | 2 of 3 | $1,700 at Amazon |
Ecovacs Deebot T90 Pro OmniMaker’s words
| Yes | Basic cleaning only | Yes, maps need the app | none stated | 2 of 3 | $800 at Amazon |
iRobot Roomba Max 705 ComboMaker’s words
| Yes | Basic cleaning only | not stated by the maker | none stated | 2 of 3 | $1,300 at Amazon |
Ecovacs Deebot T50 Max Pro OmniMaker’s words
| Yes | Basic cleaning only | Yes, maps need the app | none stated | 2 of 3 | $450 at Amazon |
iRobot Roomba 105 ComboMaker’s words
| Yes | Basic cleaning only | not stated by the maker | none stated | 2 of 3 | $269 at Amazon |
iRobot Roomba 105 VacMaker’s words
| Yes | Basic cleaning only | not stated by the maker | none stated | 2 of 3 | $449 at Amazon |
iRobot Roomba 105X ComboMaker’s words
| Yes | Basic cleaning only | not stated by the maker | none stated | 2 of 3 | $450 at Amazon |
iRobot Roomba Max 715 VacMaker’s words
| Yes | Basic cleaning only | not stated by the maker | none stated | 2 of 3 | $699 at Amazon |
iRobot Roomba Plus 405 ComboMaker’s words
| Yes | Basic cleaning only | not stated by the maker | none stated | 2 of 3 | $800 at Amazon |
iRobot Roomba Plus 505X ComboMaker’s words
| Yes | Basic cleaning only | not stated by the maker | none stated | 2 of 3 | $790 at Amazon |
iRobot Roomba 115X ComboMaker’s words
| Yes | Basic cleaning only | not stated by the maker | none stated | 2 of 3 | $470 at Amazon |
iRobot Roomba Max 775 ComboMaker’s words
| Yes | Basic cleaning only | not stated by the maker | none stated | 2 of 3 | $800 at Amazon |
iRobot Roomba Max 875 ComboMaker’s words
| Yes | Basic cleaning only | not stated by the maker | none stated | 2 of 3 | $1,200 at Amazon |
iRobot Roomba Plus 415X ComboMaker’s words
| Yes | Basic cleaning only | not stated by the maker | none stated | 2 of 3 | $597 at Amazon |
iRobot Roomba Plus 515 ComboMaker’s words
| Yes | Basic cleaning only | not stated by the maker | none stated | 2 of 3 | $600 at Amazon |
iRobot Roomba Plus 575 ComboMaker’s words
| Yes | Basic cleaning only | not stated by the maker | none stated | 2 of 3 | $500 at Amazon |
iRobot Roomba Plus 678 ComboMaker’s words
| Yes | Basic cleaning only | not stated by the maker | none stated | 2 of 3 | $900 at Amazon |
Roborock Qrevo EdgeMaker’s words
| Yes | Basic cleaning only | not stated by the maker | none stated | 2 of 3 | Maker’s page |
Roborock Qrevo Edge S5AMaker’s words
| Yes | Basic cleaning only | not stated by the maker | none stated | 2 of 3 | Specs |
Roborock Saros 10RMaker’s words
| Yes | Basic cleaning only | not stated by the maker | none stated | 2 of 3 | Maker’s page |
Dreame L10s UltraMaker’s words
| Yes | Basic cleaning only | not stated by the maker | none stated | 2 of 3 | Maker’s page |
Roborock Q7 MaxMaker’s words
| Yes | Basic cleaning only | not stated by the maker | none stated | 2 of 3 | Maker’s page |
Roborock Q8 Max+Maker’s words
| Yes | Basic cleaning only | not stated by the maker | none stated | 2 of 3 | Maker’s page |
Roborock S8 Max UltraMaker’s words
| Yes | Basic cleaning only | not stated by the maker | none stated | 2 of 3 | Specs |
eufy X10 Pro OmniMaker’s words
| Yes | Basic cleaning only | Yes, maps need the app | none stated | 2 of 3 | Maker’s page |
Ecovacs Deebot N30 Pro OmniMaker’s words
| Yes | Basic cleaning only | Yes, maps need the app | none stated | 2 of 3 | Maker’s page |
Ecovacs Deebot X8 Pro OmniMaker’s words
| Yes | Basic cleaning only | Yes, maps need the app | none stated | 2 of 3 | Maker’s page |
iRobot Roomba 205 ComboMaker’s words
| Yes | Basic cleaning only | not stated by the maker | none stated | 2 of 3 | Maker’s page |
iRobot Roomba Combo 10 MaxMaker’s words
| Yes | Basic cleaning only | not stated by the maker | none stated | 2 of 3 | Maker’s page |
iRobot Roomba Plus 415 ComboMaker’s words
| Yes | Basic cleaning only | not stated by the maker | none stated | 2 of 3 | Maker’s page |
Narwal Freo 20Maker’s words
| Yes | not stated by the maker | not stated by the maker | none stated | 1 of 3 | $1,100 at Amazon |
Narwal Freo X PlusMaker’s words
| Yes | not stated by the maker | Yes, maps need the app | none stated | 1 of 3 | $340 at Amazon |
Narwal Flow 2Maker’s words
| Yes | not stated by the maker | not stated by the maker | none stated | 1 of 3 | $1,300 at Amazon |
eufy E28Maker’s words
| not stated by the maker | Basic cleaning only | not stated by the maker | none stated | 1 of 3 | $630 at Amazon |
eufy C28Maker’s words
| Yes | not stated by the maker | not stated by the maker | none stated | 1 of 3 | $500 at Amazon |
eufy Omni S2Maker’s words
| Yes | not stated by the maker | not stated by the maker | none stated | 1 of 3 | $1,300 at Amazon |
Narwal Freo X10 ProMaker’s words
| Yes | not stated by the maker | not stated by the maker | none stated | 1 of 3 | Maker’s page |
Shark PowerDetect NeverTouch Pro Robot Vacuum and MopMaker’s words
| Yes | not stated by the maker | not stated by the maker | none stated | 1 of 3 | Maker’s page |
eufy Omni E35Maker’s words
| Yes | not stated by the maker | Yes, maps need the app | none stated | 1 of 3 | Maker’s page |
Narwal Freo 20 EdgeMaker’s words
| not stated by the maker | not stated by the maker | not stated by the maker | none stated | 0 of 3 | $800 at Amazon |
Narwal Freo Z10 TurboMaker’s words
| not stated by the maker | not stated by the maker | not stated by the maker | none stated | 0 of 3 | $550 at Amazon |
eufy E25Maker’s words
| not stated by the maker | not stated by the maker | Yes, maps need the app | none stated | 0 of 3 | $600 at Amazon |
eufy Omni C20Maker’s words
| not stated by the maker | not stated by the maker | not stated by the maker | none stated | 0 of 3 | $700 at Amazon |
Shark Matrix PlusMaker’s words
| not stated by the maker | not stated by the maker | Yes, maps need the app | none stated | 0 of 3 | $300 at Amazon |
Shark NavigatorMaker’s words
| not stated by the maker | not stated by the maker | not stated by the maker | none stated | 0 of 3 | $400 at Amazon |
Shark PowerDetect ThermaChargedMaker’s words
| not stated by the maker | not stated by the maker | not stated by the maker | none stated | 0 of 3 | $1,300 at Amazon |
Shark PowerDetect UV RevealMaker’s words
| not stated by the maker | not stated by the maker | not stated by the maker | none stated | 0 of 3 | $900 at Amazon |
Shark Stratos RobotMaker’s words
| not stated by the maker | not stated by the maker | Yes, maps need the app | none stated | 0 of 3 | $800 at Amazon |
Narwal Freo SMaker’s words
| not stated by the maker | not stated by the maker | not stated by the maker | none stated | 0 of 3 | Maker’s page |
Shark Matrix Self-EmptyMaker’s words
| not stated by the maker | not stated by the maker | Yes, maps need the app | none stated | 0 of 3 | Maker’s page |
| Lefant M210 ProThe maker pages we read do not answer these questions for this model. | not stated by the maker | not stated by the maker | not stated by the maker | none stated | 0 of 3 | Maker’s page |
Self-cleaning litter boxes: 15 of 24 work with no app and no internet
23 of 24 have a maker statement that they start from a button, or on their own, with no app. 15 of 24 have a maker statement that they keep working with no internet. Of those, 15 work fully offline, not just basic cleaning, by the maker’s words. 1 of 24 has a maker statement that you need the app to set it up first. For 1, the maker pages we read say nothing either way.
| Buy | ||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Whisker Litter-Robot 4Maker’s words
| Yes | Yes, fully | not stated by the maker | Optional Whisker+ adds video, history and insights; renews at $7.99 a month. | 3 of 3 | $699 at Amazon |
Whisker Litter-Robot EVOMaker’s words
| Yes | Yes, fully | not stated by the maker | Optional Whisker+ adds video, history and insights; renews at $7.99 a month. | 3 of 3 | $599 at Amazon |
Meowant MW-SC02Maker’s words
| Yes | Yes, fully | not stated by the maker | none stated | 3 of 3 | $250 at Amazon |
Meowant MW-SC09Maker’s words
| Yes | Yes, fully | not stated by the maker | none stated | 3 of 3 | $314 at Amazon |
Meowant MW-SC10Maker’s words
| Yes | Yes, fully | not stated by the maker | none stated | 3 of 3 | $250 at Amazon |
Els Pet OrbitieMaker’s words
| Yes | Yes, fully | not stated by the maker | none stated | 3 of 3 | $250 at Amazon |
Neakasa M1 PlusMaker’s words
| Yes | Yes, fully | not stated by the maker | none stated | 3 of 3 | $380 at Amazon |
PETKIT Purobot Max Pro 2Maker’s words
| Yes | Yes, fully | not stated by the maker | Optional PETKIT Care+ plan adds 30-day video history (price not stated on page). | 3 of 3 | $491 at Amazon |
Petlibro Luma Smart Litter BoxMaker’s words
| Yes | Yes, fully | not stated by the maker | Box works with no plan; AI video analysis and playback need a Video Cloud AI plan. | 3 of 3 | $600 at Amazon |
PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro LegacyMaker’s words
| Yes | Yes, fully | not stated by the maker | none stated | 3 of 3 | $130 at Amazon |
Whisker Litter-Robot 5Maker’s words
| Yes | Yes, fully | not stated by the maker | Optional Whisker+ adds video, history and insights; renews at $7.99 a month. | 3 of 3 | Maker’s page |
Whisker Litter-Robot 5 ProMaker’s words
| Yes | Yes, fully | not stated by the maker | Optional Whisker+ adds video, history and insights; renews at $7.99 a month. | 3 of 3 | Maker’s page |
Meowant MW-SC01Maker’s words
| Yes | Yes, fully | not stated by the maker | none stated | 3 of 3 | Maker’s page |
Neakasa M1Maker’s words
| Yes | Yes, fully | not stated by the maker | none stated | 3 of 3 | Maker’s page |
ChillX AutoEggMaker’s words
| Yes | Yes, fully | not stated by the maker | none stated | 3 of 3 | Maker’s page |
PETKIT Purobot UltraMaker’s words
| Yes | not stated by the maker | not stated by the maker | Optional PETKIT Care+ plan adds 30-day video history (price not stated on page). | 1 of 3 | $800 at Amazon |
CatLink Scooper SEMaker’s words
| Yes | not stated by the maker | not stated by the maker | none stated | 1 of 3 | $219 at Amazon |
PETKIT PuraMax 2Maker’s words
| Yes | not stated by the maker | not stated by the maker | none stated | 1 of 3 | $300 at Amazon |
CatGenie A.I.Maker’s words
| Yes | not stated by the maker | not stated by the maker | None, the maker says | 1 of 3 | Maker’s page |
Casa Leo Leo's Loo TooMaker’s words
| Yes | not stated by the maker | not stated by the maker | none stated | 1 of 3 | Maker’s page |
CatLink Scooper Pro UltraMaker’s words
| Yes | not stated by the maker | not stated by the maker | Video playback is a paid plan, set per device (trial offered). | 1 of 3 | Maker’s page |
Petsnowy Snow+Maker’s words
| Yes | not stated by the maker | not stated by the maker | none stated | 1 of 3 | Maker’s page |
CatLink Scooper Luxury Pro-XMaker’s words
| Yes | not stated by the maker | not stated by the maker | none stated | 1 of 3 | Maker’s page |
PETKIT Purobot Max 3Maker’s words
| not stated by the maker | not stated by the maker | not stated by the maker | Optional PETKIT Care+ plan adds 30-day video history (price not stated on page). | 0 of 3 | $370 at Amazon |
Robot lawn mowers: 1 of 17 work with no app and no internet
9 of 17 have a maker statement that they start from a button, or on their own, with no app. 3 of 17 have a maker statement that they keep working with no internet. Of those, 2 work fully offline, not just basic cleaning, by the maker’s words. 6 of 17 have a maker statement that you need the app to set them up first. For 6, the maker pages we read say nothing either way.
| Buy | ||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Ecovacs GOAT O1000 RTKMaker’s words
| Yes | Basic cleaning only | Yes, maps need the app | none stated | 2 of 3 | $791 at Amazon |
Mammotion LUBA mini 2 AWD 1500HMaker’s words
| not stated by the maker | Yes, fully | Yes, maps need the app | 4G data free for the first 3 years | 2 of 3 | $1,799 at Amazon |
Mammotion LUBA 3 AWD 3000HMaker’s words
| not stated by the maker | Yes, fully | Yes, maps need the app | 4G data free for the first 3 years | 2 of 3 | Maker’s page |
Husqvarna Automower 410 iQMaker’s words
| Yes | not stated by the maker | not stated by the maker | None, the maker says | 1 of 3 | $2,600 at Amazon |
Segway Navimow i105NMaker’s words
| Yes | not stated by the maker | Yes, maps need the app | None, the maker says | 1 of 3 | $799 at Amazon |
Segway Navimow i110NMaker’s words
| Yes | not stated by the maker | Yes, maps need the app | None, the maker says | 1 of 3 | $1,099 at Amazon |
Segway Navimow i210 AWDMaker’s words
| Yes | not stated by the maker | not stated by the maker | None, the maker says | 1 of 3 | $1,299 at Amazon |
WORX Landroid Vision AI 1/2 AcreMaker’s words
| Yes | not stated by the maker | not stated by the maker | none stated | 1 of 3 | $1,573 at Amazon |
Husqvarna Automower 420 iQMaker’s words
| Yes | not stated by the maker | not stated by the maker | None, the maker says | 1 of 3 | Maker’s page |
Husqvarna Automower 435iQ AWDMaker’s words
| Yes | not stated by the maker | not stated by the maker | none stated | 1 of 3 | Maker’s page |
Segway Navimow H210Maker’s words
| Yes | not stated by the maker | not stated by the maker | None, the maker says | 1 of 3 | Specs |
WORX Landroid Vision Cloud 1/4 AcreMaker’s words
| not stated by the maker | not stated by the maker | not stated by the maker | None, the maker says | 0 of 3 | $938 at Amazon |
WORX Landroid Vision Cloud WR320Maker’s words
| not stated by the maker | not stated by the maker | not stated by the maker | None, the maker says | 0 of 3 | $1,488 at Amazon |
eufy E15Maker’s words
| not stated by the maker | not stated by the maker | not stated by the maker | 4G data is an add-on bought in the app. Price not stated on that page. | 0 of 3 | $1,800 at Amazon |
Greenworks AiMowbot C40Maker’s words
| not stated by the maker | not stated by the maker | not stated by the maker | The 4G data plan can expire and must be renewed; price not stated. | 0 of 3 | Maker’s page |
Mammotion YUKA mini 2 1000HMaker’s words
| not stated by the maker | not stated by the maker | Yes, maps need the app | 4G data free for the first 3 years (module sold separately) | 0 of 3 | Maker’s page |
Sunseeker X7Maker’s words
| not stated by the maker | not stated by the maker | not stated by the maker | none stated | 0 of 3 | Maker’s page |
About the name: WORX sells the Landroid Vision WR220 as the “1/2 Acre” model, but its own page says it “Reliably covers areas up to 1/5 acre (8,712 sq. ft.)”. We judge it on 8,712 sq ft, about a fifth of an acre (WORX’s page, read October 1, 2026).
Robotic pool cleaners: 6 of 13 work with no app and no internet
11 of 13 have a maker statement that they start from a button, or on their own, with no app. 7 of 13 have a maker statement that they keep working with no internet. Of those, 5 work fully offline, not just basic cleaning, by the maker’s words. For 1, the maker pages we read say nothing either way.
| Buy | ||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Dolphin E10Maker’s words
| Yes | Yes, fully | not stated by the maker | none stated | 3 of 3 | $530 at Amazon |
Dolphin Nautilus CCMaker’s words
| Yes | Yes, fully | not stated by the maker | none stated | 3 of 3 | $699 at Amazon |
Wybot C1Maker’s words
| Yes | Yes, fully | not stated by the maker | none stated | 3 of 3 | $400 at Amazon |
Wybot S2Maker’s words
| Yes | Yes, fully | not stated by the maker | none stated | 3 of 3 | Maker’s page |
Beatbot AquaSense 2Maker’s words
| Yes | Basic cleaning only | not stated by the maker | none stated | 2 of 3 | $849 at Amazon |
Beatbot AquaSense 2 UltraMaker’s words
| Yes | Basic cleaning only | not stated by the maker | none stated | 2 of 3 | $2,299 at Amazon |
Aiper Scuba S1Maker’s words
| not stated by the maker | Yes, fully | not stated by the maker | none stated | 2 of 3 | $500 at Amazon |
Dolphin Explorer E50Maker’s words
| Yes | not stated by the maker | not stated by the maker | none stated | 1 of 3 | $1,629 at Amazon |
Dolphin Nautilus CC PlusMaker’s words
| Yes | not stated by the maker | not stated by the maker | none stated | 1 of 3 | $829 at Amazon |
Dolphin Nautilus CC SupremeMaker’s words
| Yes | not stated by the maker | not stated by the maker | none stated | 1 of 3 | $1,449 at Amazon |
Aiper Scuba SEMaker’s words
| Yes | not stated by the maker | not stated by the maker | none stated | 1 of 3 | $150 at Amazon |
Dolphin SigmaMaker’s words
| Yes | not stated by the maker | not stated by the maker | none stated | 1 of 3 | Maker’s page |
Aiper Scuba S1 ProMaker’s words
| not stated by the maker | not stated by the maker | not stated by the maker | none stated | 0 of 3 | Maker’s page |
Window-cleaning robots: 2 of 4 work with no app and no internet
4 of 4 have a maker statement that they start from a button, or on their own, with no app. 2 of 4 have a maker statement that they keep working with no internet. None of their makers say the schedule keeps running offline.
| Buy | ||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Ecovacs Winbot W1 ProMaker’s words
| Yes | Basic cleaning only | not stated by the maker | none stated | 2 of 3 | Maker’s page |
Ecovacs Winbot W2 Pro OmniMaker’s words
| Yes | Basic cleaning only | not stated by the maker | none stated | 2 of 3 | Maker’s page |
HOBOT-2SMaker’s words
| Yes | not stated by the maker | not stated by the maker | none stated | 1 of 3 | $299 at Amazon |
Tosima W2Maker’s words
| Yes | not stated by the maker | not stated by the maker | none stated | 1 of 3 | $126 at Amazon |
By brand
How many of each brand’s robots have a maker statement for each answer. “Maker says neither” counts robots whose maker pages do not say whether they start with no app or work with no internet.
| Brand | Type | Robots we track | Start with no app | Work with no internet | Need app for maps | Paid plan | Maker says neither |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Roborock | robot vacuum | 24 | 24 | 24 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| iRobot | robot vacuum | 17 | 17 | 17 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Dreame | robot vacuum | 12 | 12 | 12 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| eufy | robot vacuum | 8 | 5 | 3 | 3 | 0 | 2 |
| Narwal | robot vacuum | 7 | 4 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 3 |
| Shark | robot vacuum | 7 | 1 | 0 | 3 | 0 | 6 |
| Ecovacs | robot vacuum | 4 | 4 | 4 | 4 | 0 | 0 |
| Lefant | robot vacuum | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 |
| Meowant | litter box | 4 | 4 | 4 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| PETKIT | litter box | 4 | 3 | 1 | 0 | 3 | 1 |
| Whisker | litter box | 4 | 4 | 4 | 0 | 4 | 0 |
| CatLink | litter box | 3 | 3 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 |
| Neakasa | litter box | 2 | 2 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Casa Leo | litter box | 1 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| CatGenie | litter box | 1 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| ChillX | litter box | 1 | 1 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Els Pet | litter box | 1 | 1 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| PetSafe | litter box | 1 | 1 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Petlibro | litter box | 1 | 1 | 1 | 0 | 1 | 0 |
| Petsnowy | litter box | 1 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Segway Navimow | robot mower | 4 | 4 | 0 | 2 | 0 | 0 |
| Husqvarna | robot mower | 3 | 3 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Mammotion | robot mower | 3 | 0 | 2 | 3 | 0 | 1 |
| WORX | robot mower | 3 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 2 |
| Ecovacs | robot mower | 1 | 1 | 1 | 1 | 0 | 0 |
| Greenworks | robot mower | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 1 |
| Sunseeker | robot mower | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 |
| eufy | robot mower | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 1 |
| Dolphin | pool robot | 6 | 6 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Aiper | pool robot | 3 | 1 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 1 |
| Beatbot | pool robot | 2 | 2 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Wybot | pool robot | 2 | 2 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Ecovacs | window robot | 2 | 2 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Hobot | window robot | 1 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Tosima | window robot | 1 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
How long will the maker keep the software going?
Only 2 brands of the robots we track state a software-support period on the pages we read: Narwal and Roborock. That covers 31 of the 138 robots. No maker we read says what happens to the app or the robot if it stops the cloud for good.
- Narwal, all its robot vacuums: Narwal promises security updates for at least 2 years after a robot launches. Maker’s words: “Narwal will maintain the security updates for at least 2 years from the launch day of products.” Narwal: Product Support Policy
- Narwal Freo X Plus: Narwal lists 2026/04/20 as the end of its security updates, a date already past. Maker’s words: “Clean Robot Narwal Freo X Plus YJCC018 2024/04/20 2026/04/20” Narwal: Product Support Policy
- Roborock, all its robot vacuums: Roborock promises at least 2 years of software security updates. Maker’s words: “We will provide software security updates for robotic vacuum cleaners for a minimum of 2 years.” Roborock US: Software Security Support Policy
When a maker’s cloud did go away
This has happened before. In each case below, the maker or the press reported what owners lost.
- Belkin Wemo smart plugs and switches (Belkin, January 2026): Belkin ended the Wemo cloud and app for most models. Remote access and voice control stopped. “discontinue Wemo cloud services and app support for select Wemo products effective January 31, 2026” Belkin support: Wemo end of support
- Neato robot vacuums (Neato Robotics, owned by Vorwerk, October 2025): Neato said it was phasing out its cloud. The app, schedules and maps stop. Its notice says what still works: “Your Neato robot will continue to function manually. Simply press the button once to launch a full house run.” Neato support: cloud services notice
- Car Thing (Spotify, December 2024): Spotify shut the device off completely. Spotify's email to owners, as printed by 9to5Google: “Car Thing will be discontinued, and will stop operating.” 9to5Google: Spotify Car Thing discontinued
- Nest Secure alarm system (Google Nest, 2024): Google ended support. The system no longer connects to Google's cloud. “Your Nest Secure will no longer connect to Cloud services” Google Nest Help: Nest Secure support ended
- Insteon smart-home hub and app (Insteon, April 2022): Insteon turned off its cloud with no warning. The app and hub automations stopped. “has shut down and turned off their cloud as of April 2022” The Register: Insteon cloud shutdown
- Revolv smart-home hub (Revolv, owned by Google Nest, May 2016): The hub and its app stopped working entirely. The founders' notice, as printed by VentureBeat: “your Revolv hub and app will no longer work” VentureBeat: Nest turns off Revolv hubs
What iRobot’s sale means for a Roomba
iRobot went through Chapter 11 and is now owned by Picea, its lender and key supplier. iRobot said the app would keep working during that process. It has not said what happens if the app or cloud ever shut down. What it does say about its robots: all 17 Roombas we track start from a button on the robot, and all 17 have an iRobot statement that they clean with no internet. The map, room picking and schedule live in the app.
- December 14, 2025: iRobot filed for Chapter 11 with a deal for Picea to buy it, and said the app would keep working during the process. “will continue operating in the ordinary course with no anticipated disruption to its app functionality” iRobot press release, December 14, 2025
- January 23, 2026: The sale closed. Picea now owns iRobot. “Picea has acquired 100% of the equity interests in iRobot” iRobot press release, January 23, 2026
How we checked
For each robot we read the maker’s own pages: the user manual, support and help articles, the product page and the app terms. We asked seven questions. Can you start a clean or cycle with no app? Is the app needed to set it up? Does it keep working with no internet once set up? Is there a way to control it that skips the maker’s cloud, like Matter or a remote? Which features need the app or cloud? Is there a paid plan? Does the maker promise how long it will support the software?
Every answer is a quote from the maker, copied word for word, with a link to the page. A script then fetched each page again and checked that the quote is still there. A quote it could not find is left out. Where the maker does not answer, we say “not stated by the maker.” We never fill a blank from a review, a store listing or a sister model. When a maker answers once for all of its robots, like a support page that covers every model, we use that answer and say so beside the quote.
The offline score adds one point for each of these, by the maker’s words: it starts with no app; it keeps working with no internet; the maker says it works fully with no internet, its schedule or automatic cycle included, not just basic cleaning. We read the maker pages for every robot we track. Maker pages read October 13, 2026. We did not test the robots ourselves.
See also: The best robot vacuum for a small, cluttered apartment.
Questions people ask
Can I use a Roomba without WiFi?
Yes. iRobot says a WiFi or app connection is not required for a Roomba to clean, and that Clean, Dock and Spot Clean work without the app. 17 of the 17 Roombas we track have an iRobot statement that they start from the button on the robot. iRobot's page for the iRobot Roomba Max 705 Combo says it needs the app and WiFi for its first setup.
Can a robot vacuum work without Wi-Fi?
Most can clean from a button. Of the 80 robot vacuums we track, 67 have a maker statement that they start with no app, and 60 have one that they keep cleaning with no internet. What you lose is the map, room picking, no-go zones and, on most, the schedule.
What happens to my robot if the company goes out of business?
It depends on what the robot does on its own. When Neato's cloud was phased out, Neato said its robots would still run a full clean from the button. App features like maps and schedules stopped. A robot that starts from a button keeps doing its basic job. A robot that needs the app to start has nothing to fall back on.
Will my Roomba stop working now that iRobot was sold?
Nothing iRobot has said points to that. iRobot said there would be no disruption to its app during its Chapter 11 case, and the sale to Picea has closed. If the app ever stopped, Roombas whose maker says they start from the robot's own button would still clean.
Do I need the app to set up a robot vacuum?
For some, yes. 15 of the 80 robot vacuums we track have a maker statement that you need the app to set them up first. Most of those can still clean from the button after that, so set the robot up while the app is working.
Which robots charge a subscription?
11 of the 138 robots we track have a paid plan for some feature, by the maker's own pages. The plans pay for things like video history, AI alerts and cellular data. The table shows each one in the maker's words.
Does a self-cleaning litter box need Wi-Fi?
Of the 24 litter boxes we track, 23 cycle on their own or from a button, and 15 have a maker statement that they keep cycling with no internet. The app adds the record of visits and weights.
Sources
- Litter-Robot: Litter-Robot 4 user manual
- Litter-Robot: FAQ (Can I use Litter-Robot without the app?)
- Whisker: Whisker+ membership
- Litter-Robot: Litter-Robot 5 / 5 Pro user manual
- Litter-Robot: Litter-Robot EVO user manual
- PETKIT: Purobot Ultra product page
- PETKIT: Purobot Max Pro 2 product page FAQ
- Neakasa: M1 / M1 Plus product page FAQ
- PetSafe: ScoopFree Crystal Pro Legacy product page
- PetSafe: Best automatic litter box buying guide
- CatLink: Scooper SE product page
- CatLink: Scooper Luxury Pro-X product page
- CatLink: Scooper Pro Ultra product page
- CatLink: FAQ (video playback plans)
- PetSnowy: SNOW+ product page
- ChillX: FAQ
- Casa Leo: Support FAQ
- Casa Leo: Leo's Loo Too product page
- Petlibro: Luma product page
- Meowant: Community FAQ
- CatGenie: Compare Models page
- CatGenie: CatGenie A.I. product page
- Els Pet: FAQ
- PETKIT: Purobot Max 3 product page FAQ
- PETKIT: PuraMax 2 user manual (PDF)
- Navimow: i Series User Manual
- Navimow: i105 product page
- Navimow: i110 product page
- Navimow: H2 User Manual
- Navimow: H2 product page
- Mammotion: Why LUBA AWD Series (FAQ)
- Mammotion: 4G Service Guide
- Mammotion: 4G Service Terms
- Mammotion: YUKA mini 2 1000H product page
- WORX: Landroid Vision Owner's Manual (WR220)
- WORX: Landroid Vision Cloud Owner's Manual
- WORX: Landroid Vision Cloud 1/4 Acre page
- Husqvarna: Operator's manual Automower 410iQ/420iQ/440iQ
- Husqvarna: Operator's manual Automower 435 iQ AWD
- Ecovacs: GOAT robotic lawn mower FAQ
- Greenworks: AiMowbot C40 product page
- eufy: E15 robot lawn mower page
- Sunseeker: X7 product page
- Navimow: i2 AWD User Manual
- Navimow: i2 AWD product page
- WORX: Landroid Vision Cloud 1/2 Acre page
- Maytronics: user manual linked from the Nautilus CC support page (titled Mass 11)
- Maytronics: Nautilus CC product page, tech specs
- Maytronics: Connecting the robot to the MyDolphin Plus application (app appendix)
- Maytronics: Dolphin Nautilus CC Supreme product page
- Maytronics: MyDolphin Plus App page
- Maytronics: user manual linked from the Explorer E10 support page (titled Mass 13)
- Maytronics: Explorer E10 product page, tech specs
- Maytronics: Dolphin Nautilus CC Plus product page
- Aiper: Scuba S1 app reconnection help article
- Aiper: Scuba S1 product page
- Aiper: Scuba SE product page
- Aiper: Scuba S1 Pro product page
- Wybot: Beginner's guide to operating the C1
- Wybot: FAQ
- Wybot: C1 product page
- Wybot: S2 product page
- Beatbot: FAQ
- eufy: Robot vacuum without Wi-Fi guide
- eufy: RoboVac 11S MAX product page
- Ecovacs: Do robot vacuums work without Wi-Fi? (blog)
- Ecovacs: DEEBOT N30 PRO OMNI manual
- iRobot: Roomba 105 Combo product page
- iRobot Support: Can I use my Wi-Fi connected robot without the iRobot HOME app?
- Roborock Support Center: Can the robot vacuum work without Wi-Fi?
- Roborock US: Software Security Support Policy
- Narwal: Freo X10 Pro User Manual (model YJCC027)
- Narwal: Freo X10 Pro product page
- Narwal: Freo product help
- Narwal: Product Support Policy
- Dreame: Robot Vacuum Without Wi-Fi: What Actually Works
- iRobot: Roomba Plus 405 Combo product page
- eufy: X10 Pro Omni user manual
- SharkNinja: RV2800ZE series Quick Start (lists RV2820ZE)
- SharkNinja: PowerDetect NeverTouch Pro Robot Vacuum and Mop product page
- Ecovacs: DEEBOT X8 Family manual
- iRobot: Roomba Combo 10 Max product page
- Roborock US: Saros 10R page
- Roborock US: Saros 10 page
- Roborock US: Qrevo Curv Series page
- eufy: Omni C20 user guide (T2280)
- iRobot: Roomba 105X Combo product page
- Roborock US: Qrevo Edge Series page
- iRobot: Roomba Max 705 Combo product page
- iRobot: Roomba Plus 505X Combo product page
- SharkNinja: Navigator Self-Empty RV2120AE product page
- SharkNinja: Matrix Self-Empty RV2310AE product page
- SharkNinja: Matrix Plus RV2610WA product page
- SharkNinja: Connected Devices
- SharkNinja: PowerDetect ThermaCharged RV2930XE product page
- SharkNinja: PowerDetect UV Reveal RV3020XE product page
- Narwal: Freo X Plus (YJCC018) User Manual
- Narwal: Freo 20 User Manual (model YJCC040)
- Narwal: Flow 2 User Manual (model YJCC036)
- eufy: Matter-compatible robot vacuums
- eufy: Omni E25 user guide (T2353)
- eufy: Omni E28 page
- eufy: Omni E28 user guide (T2352)
- eufy: Omni C28 user guide (T211A)
- eufy: Omni E35 user guide (T210M)
- eufy: Omni S2 user guide (T2081)
- iRobot: Roomba Max 715 Vac product page
- iRobot: Roomba 105 Vac product page
- iRobot: Roomba 205 Combo (DustCompactor) product page
- Roborock US: Qrevo Slim page
- Roborock US: Saros Z70 page
- Roborock US: Saros 20 product page
- Ecovacs: WINBOT window cleaning robot FAQ
- Hobot: HOBOT-2S product page
- Tosima: W2 product page
- Belkin support: Wemo end of support
- Neato support: cloud services notice
- 9to5Google: Spotify Car Thing discontinued
- Google Nest Help: Nest Secure support ended
- The Register: Insteon cloud shutdown
- VentureBeat: Nest turns off Revolv hubs
- iRobot press release, December 14, 2025
- iRobot press release, January 23, 2026
More on cameras, maps and data: apps, subscriptions and what works offline. Roomba buyers: which Roomba to buy.
iRobot Roomba 105 ComboStarts from its button, no app needed
$269 at Amazon