Roborock vs Roomba: Navigation, Mopping, Docks, Parts and Support
Both brands sell a budget, a middle and a top tier. Here is each feature side by side, tier by tier, from the makers' own figures, with the part prices and warranty.
Roborock wins more of the features that differ. It climbs taller door strips in every price tier. From the middle tier up, it lifts its mop off rugs by a stated height. Roomba wins on the dock bag: it holds up to 90 days of dirt, against 49 for Roborock. Maps, obstacle avoidance and the warranty are close. Pick the price tier first, then compare inside it.
This page picks only from Roborock and iRobot, by the same rule as our pet-hair page. With every brand in, that rule picks the Ecovacs Deebot T50 Max Pro Omni.
For hard floors with pets, the Roborock Qrevo CurvX. It passes all five pet checks: an anti-tangle brush, a dock that empties it, room to spare over a door strip, a mop that lifts for rugs, and a stated bag life. It was $950 on Amazon when checked.
| Model | Threshold, up to | Mop | Mop lifts | Self-emptying dock | Anti-tangle | Suction | Runtime | Warranty | Fit | Price | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Our pick | Roborock Qrevo CurvX | 40 mm (double step, maker's number) | two spinning pads | 17 mm | yes | yes | 22,000 Pa | not published | 1 year | passes all 5 pet checks | $950 at Amazon |
| The Roomba pick | iRobot Roomba Plus 678 Combo | 16 mm (maker's number, step type not given) | roller | not published | yes | yes | not published | not published | not published | passes 3 of 5 pet checks | $900 at Amazon |
| The Dreame answer | Dreame L40s Ultra | 22 mm (single step, maker's number) | two spinning pads | 10.5 mm | yes | yes | 19,000 Pa | not published | not published | passes all 5 pet checks | $500 at Amazon |
The model matters more than the brand
Both brands sell a cheap tier, a middle tier and a top tier. A top Roomba and a budget Roborock are further apart than the two brands are. Pick the tier for your floors and budget first, then compare inside it. The feature tables below show one model per brand per tier; each model’s page has its full figures.
| Tier | Roborock | Roomba |
|---|---|---|
| Budget Roborock Q series; Roomba 100 and 200 | Roborock Q7 L5 $140 list $250 Roborock Q7 M5+ $250 list $430 Roborock Q10 S5+ $330 list $550 maker’s store $280, read November 2, 2026 | iRobot Roomba 105 Combo $269 list $470 iRobot Roomba 105X Combo $450 iRobot Roomba 205 Combo not on Amazon right now |
| Mid Roborock Qrevo; Roomba Plus | Roborock Qrevo S5V $900 Roborock Qrevo CurvX $950 list $1,500 Roborock Qrevo Edge not on Amazon right now | iRobot Roomba Plus 405 Combo $800 iRobot Roomba Plus 415 Combo not on Amazon right now iRobot Roomba Plus 575 Combo $500 |
| Top Roborock Saros and Qrevo Edge 3; Roomba Max and Combo 10 Max | Roborock Saros 10R not on Amazon right now Roborock Saros 20 $1,600 Roborock Qrevo Edge 3 Pro $1,000 list $1,500 | iRobot Roomba Max 705 Combo $1,300 iRobot Roomba Max 775 Combo $800 iRobot Roomba Combo 10 Max not on Amazon right now |
Vacuuming
| Model | Suction | Anti-tangle brush |
|---|---|---|
| Budget Roborock Q7 L5 | 8,000 Pa | yes |
| Mid Roborock Qrevo S5V | 12,000 Pa | yes |
| Mid iRobot Roomba Plus 415 Combo | not published | yes |
| Top Roborock Saros 10R | not published | yes |
| Top iRobot Roomba Max 705 Combo | not published | yes |
The makers publish none of these figures for the Roomba budget models.
Maker pages behind these figures: Roborock Q7 L5, Roborock Qrevo S5V, iRobot Roomba Plus 415 Combo, Roborock Saros 10R. Every figure links its source on the model’s own page.
Mopping
| Model | Mop | Dock washes it | Hot-air dry | Lifts mop |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Budget Roborock Q7 L5 | mop | not published | not published | not published |
| Budget iRobot Roomba 105 Combo | flat pad | not published | not published | not published |
| Mid Roborock Qrevo S5V | two spinning pads | yes | yes | 10 mm |
| Mid iRobot Roomba Plus 405 Combo | two spinning pads | yes | not published | not published |
| Top Roborock Saros 10R | two spinning pads | yes | yes | 17 mm |
| Top iRobot Roomba Max 705 Combo | roller mop | yes | not published | not published |
Maker pages behind these figures: Roborock Q7 L5, iRobot Roomba 105 Combo, Roborock Qrevo S5V, iRobot Roomba Plus 405 Combo. Every figure links its source on the model’s own page.
Obstacle avoidance
| Model | Sees obstacles with |
|---|---|
| Budget Roborock Q10 S5+ | laser bumper only |
| Mid Roborock Qrevo S5V | structured light |
| Mid iRobot Roomba Plus 575 Combo | PrecisionVision AI camera |
| Top Roborock Qrevo Edge 3 Pro | structured light + AI camera |
| Top iRobot Roomba Max 775 Combo | PrecisionVision AI camera |
The makers publish none of these figures for the Roomba budget models.
Maker pages behind these figures: Roborock Q10 S5+, Roborock Qrevo S5V, iRobot Roomba Plus 575 Combo, Roborock Qrevo Edge 3 Pro. Every figure links its source on the model’s own page.
Docks and upkeep
- Budget: iRobot Roomba 105 Combo 75 days vs Roborock Q7 M5+ 49
- Mid: iRobot Roomba Plus 405 Combo 75 days vs Roborock Qrevo S5V 49
- Top: Roomba (iRobot Roomba Max 705 Combo, 75 days; Roborock does not publish it)
| Model | Self-empties | Bag lasts |
|---|---|---|
| Budget Roborock Q7 M5+ | yes | 49 days |
| Budget iRobot Roomba 105 Combo | yes | 75 days |
| Mid Roborock Qrevo S5V | yes | 49 days |
| Mid iRobot Roomba Plus 405 Combo | yes | 75 days |
| Top Roborock Saros 10R | yes | not published |
| Top iRobot Roomba Max 705 Combo | yes | 75 days |
Maker pages behind these figures: Roborock Q7 M5+, iRobot Roomba 105 Combo, Roborock Qrevo S5V, iRobot Roomba Plus 405 Combo. Every figure links its source on the model’s own page.
App, Wi-Fi and software support
Who wins: about even. Both start a clean from a button on the robot with no app. Roborock states how long it ships security updates; iRobot does not state a period. Which models the 2026 FCC rule on imported robots touches: the robot vacuum FCC ban.
| Model | Start with no app | With no internet | Software support |
|---|---|---|---|
| Roborock Qrevo S5V | Maker says the robot can clean at the push of a button without Wi-Fi. | Works without Wi-Fi for basic cleanups; scheduling needs Wi-Fi. | Roborock promises at least 2 years of software security updates. |
| iRobot Roomba Plus 405 Combo | You can start a clean with the button on the robot, no app needed. | iRobot says cleaning needs no app or Wi-Fi; it does not say schedules or maps run offline. | not stated by the maker |
Makers’ words: Roborock Support Center: Can the robot vacuum work without Wi-Fi?, Roborock US: Software Security Support Policy, iRobot: Roomba Plus 405 Combo product page, iRobot Support: Can I use my Wi-Fi connected robot without the iRobot HOME app?. More: apps, subscriptions and offline use.
Parts, warranty and repair
Who wins: a tie. The part lists below are not like for like (Amazon prices different parts for each model), so they show what a year of parts costs, not which brand is cheaper. Both makers state a one-year warranty.
Roborock
- Warranty: one year from purchase (Roborock’s warranty page)
- Where parts are sold: Roborock sells brushes, filters, mop pads and bags in its US online store, and on Amazon
- Repair: Roborock repairs a robot free under its warranty terms; out of warranty it offers paid repair (Roborock’s own words)
- Part prices on Amazon (checked 2026-11-05):
- Roborock Qrevo S5V: main brush $22.99 (replace every 6-12 months); side brush $15.99 for 2 (replace every 3-6 months); mop cloths $29.99 for 4 (replace every 1-3 months). About $99 to $258 a year at the maker’s intervals.
Roomba
- Warranty: one year, limited (Roomba’s warranty page)
- Where parts are sold: iRobot sells genuine replacement parts on irobot.com, and on Amazon
- Repair: iRobot repairs or replaces a robot free when it fails under warranty (Roomba’s own words)
- Support going forward: after its 2025 bankruptcy, iRobot says it plans to keep customer service, software updates and warranty coverage for current robots (Roomba’s company update)
- Part prices on Amazon (checked 2026-11-05):
- iRobot Roomba Plus 405 Combo: filter $19.99 for 3 (replace every 3-6 months); dock dirt disposal bag $19.99 for 3 (replace up to 75 days per bag). About $46 to $59 a year at the maker’s intervals.
Refill prices are Amazon’s on the date shown; intervals are the makers’ own. We did not buy or test parts.
One house, judged: hard floors and a shedding pet
The house is hard floors with 15 mm thresholds, shedding pets, a mop and a self-emptying dock wanted. Each want becomes a check against something the maker has published. Our pet-hair page uses five checks: an anti-tangle brush, a dock that empties the robot, room to spare over the door strip, a mop that lifts for rugs, and a stated bag life. A blank counts as a miss, not a pass.
If your own floors are different, change them in the box below. It judges every model on this page again against your house.
Adjust to your house. Change the numbers and this box re-judges the models compared here against your house, with the same rules and the same maker figures. The picks and tables above stay on the page’s own house.
Our pickRoborock Qrevo CurvX
Passes all five pet checks, and Amazon sells it

$950 at Amazon, November 5, 202640 mm (double step, maker's number) threshold, up totwo spinning pads mop17 mm mop liftsself-emptying dock
Roborock states an anti-tangle system, a dock that empties the robot and holds dirt for 49 days, a climb of 40 mm (double step, maker's number), and two spinning mops that lift 17 mm off rugs. That passes all five pet checks. The dock also washes the mops and dries them with warm air. It lists at $1,500 and was $950 on Amazon when checked.
Price as of November 5, 2026; the listing we verified as the bare unit. Sold by Roborock Technology Co. Ltd, the maker's own storefront, when we checked.
Owner reports, tester figures, more photos and the listings we skipped are on the Roborock Qrevo CurvX page. Figures from us.roborock.com. Recall screen: no US or Canada recall names this model, checked November 3, 2026.
The Roomba pickiRobot Roomba Plus 678 Combo
The Roomba that passes the most pet checks

$900 at Amazon, November 5, 202616 mm (maker's number, step type not given) threshold, up toroller mopself-emptying dock
iRobot states an anti-tangle brush, a dock that empties the robot and holds dirt for 90 days, and a roller mop the dock washes. That is three of the five pet checks. iRobot's support page rates Roombas to climb 16 mm (maker's number, step type not given), right at this house's door strip, and iRobot gives no mop-lift height. It lists at $900 and was $900 on Amazon when checked.
Price as of November 5, 2026; the listing we verified as the bare unit. Sold by Amazon itself when we checked.
Owner reports, tester figures, more photos and the listings we skipped are on the iRobot Roomba Plus 678 Combo page. Figures from irobot.com. Recall screen: no US or Canada recall names this model, checked November 3, 2026.
The Dreame answerDreame L40s Ultra
Dreame's best answer for the same house

$500 at Amazon, November 5, 202622 mm (single step, maker's number) threshold, up totwo spinning pads mop10.5 mm mop liftsself-emptying dock
Dreame states an anti-tangle brush, a dock that empties the robot, a climb of 22 mm (single step, maker's number), and two spinning mops that lift 10.5 mm. It passes all five pet checks, like the Roborock, but lifts its mops less. Dreame says its bag lasts up to 100 days in a home without pets. It lists at $570 and was $500 on Amazon when checked.
Price as of November 5, 2026; the listing we verified as the bare unit. Sold by Dreame Technology HK Limited, the maker's own storefront, when we checked.
Owner reports, tester figures, more photos and the listings we skipped are on the Dreame L40s Ultra page. Figures from dreametech.com. Recall screen: no US or Canada recall names this model, checked November 3, 2026.
Buying it right
Each model page lists the similar Amazon listings we did not link and why: Roborock Qrevo CurvX, iRobot Roomba Plus 678 Combo, Dreame L40s Ultra. How we match listings.
What this page can’t promise
Side by side means what the makers publish, and an empty cell is not a zero. The iRobot Roomba Plus 405 Combo may well have a tangle-resistant roller; iRobot does not say so in a line we can quote, and unknown is what silence earns.
Nothing here was tested by us. The tester findings under each pick belong to the named testers, and the complaints are owners' reports.
A dock bag rated in days is the maker's figure for the maker's house on the maker's schedule, and the page cannot know how fast a shedding dog on hard floors fills yours.
The FCC added foreign-made robots to its Covered List on July 28, 2026. Models it approved before then can still be sold. Which robot vacuums you can still buy after the FCC rule.
See also: best robot vacuum under $300.
Questions people ask
Is Roborock or Roomba better for pet hair on hard floors?
For this house, Roborock. The Roborock Qrevo CurvX passes all five pet checks; the iRobot Roomba Plus 678 Combo passes three. Both makers state an anti-tangle brush. Roborock also states 22,000 Pa of suction; iRobot gives no suction figure. When checked, Amazon had the Roborock Qrevo CurvX at $950 and the iRobot Roomba Plus 678 Combo at $900.
Can I still get parts and service for these in a few years?
Yes, for now. Both sell parts in their own US stores and on Amazon. Roborock offers paid repair after its one-year warranty. iRobot says that after its 2025 bankruptcy it plans to keep service, software updates and warranty coverage for current robots. Neither says how many years it will stock parts.
Related pages
Roborock Qrevo CurvXOur pick
$950 at Amazon